[PEAR EATS TOKYO 18] beef tongue

in #foodphotography6 years ago

IMG_3108.jpg

After I booked my tickets to Tokyo, I immediately started asking around about places to eat.

After all, one of the main reasons for going to Tokyo was to eat a shit ton.

One recommendation I got was Rikyu, a chain beef tongue restaurant. I'm glad YK wasn't daunted by the idea of eating tongue, as I was more than ready to try this famous dish.

Arriving bright and early to Rikyu...

IMG_3100.jpg

IMG_3101.jpg

We ordered the regular beef tongue set with the premium (something along the lines of that) beef tongue set. Sets came with soup and salad. Also had a nice side of stewed beef or yam (yes, my memory is that bad :( ) and some kind of tomato based stew. Oops, can't forget the star, the beef tongue.

IMG_3104.jpg

IMG_3105.jpg

IMG_E3106.jpg

I loved the transparent soup which was nice and light. Good to have with the heavy beef. Tasted like something Pear Mama would make.

The salad was crisp and the stewed yam? beef? was very flavorful.

IMG_3102.jpg

IMG_3103.jpg

The stew was HEAVY. I could taste the gaminess and richness of the meat. I paired it with white rice, also included in the set, to balance out the richness.

IMG_3107.jpg

The beef tongue wasn't as amazing as I imagined it to be. I loved the flavor of it, lightly seasoned with salt just to bring out its natural meaty and fatty taste. I didn't love the texture of it, slightly rubbery. I have to say I enjoyed it nonetheless. There wasn't much of a distinguishable difference between the plain and premium beef tongue. YK thought the same, so I'd say save your yen if you are choosing between the two.

IMG_3108.jpg

IMG_3109.jpg

Beef tongue at Rikyu was without a doubt a tasty meal at a good value as we left satisfied with full bellies. Definitely worth a try.

IMG_3110.jpg

Stay hungry!

steemica1.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T11:48:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 492.40/200.00
Total Photos: 81
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Finally someone else who appreciates beef tongue. Being almost completely muscle and used thoroughly in a cow's life, I tend to see and use it a lot in stews, however, if cooked right can be great on the grill as well. Love your comment about the natural beefy flavors!

Congratulations @pearica!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47