Extolling The Virtues Of Silver

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry into @juliank's photo contest, the details can be found in this post:
https://steemit.com/contest/@juliank/happymondaysteemitshareyourfoodandanimalphotography-20180326000000431
20180325_175223.jpg
This is a silver creamer, part of a set that was passed down to my wife. I have it filled with fresh, raw cream. This is not just another pretty picture, though. This is an illustration for my story.

Photo taken with my cell phone as the Fuji FinePix S8300 is acting weird this evening.

Yesterday I was tagged by @tattoodjay to take part in a new challenge. The salient details I have clipped right out of his post:
UPDATE! Here is the post that started it all, by @felobtc! https://busy.org/@felobtc/the-steemit-name-challenge
Excellent idea, great way to meet fellow steemians!

The challenge is the the Steemit Name Challenge

Here are the rules

  1. Tell us in your post how you chose the current Steemit username you have, the story behind it.
  2. Tell us your real name!
  3. If you could change your current Steemit username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!
  4. Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that I can track all the posts and check them out
  5. Nominate 5 people for this challenge


    My wife and I were both "silverbug" enough to snag silver dimes and quarters when we saw them go by, but in the 1980's my brother-in-law told us what the Hunt brothers were doing, and at that point we began "stacking." We also were raising kids so the stack was not large, but we collected, we did not sell. In 2007 I discovered GATA and Ron Paul and learned about Jekyl Island. I have been a dedicated stacker since. We still do not have a lot to invest but I am content to HODL and beyond- I will pass this on to my kids and grandkids because they have been educated in the silver manipulation, they understand this could be a long, long, long term investment but silver is real. One of my early posts was a video showing how to make colloidal silver at home for next to nothing. When people scoff at "just shiny rocks" I scoff back - I can make a medicine that even hospitals use as an antimicrobial agent and a burn salve. So I am long silver for as long as I need to be. One day the people making cell phones and computers will be told they can't get any silver and they cannot make electronics with ETFs. Then we will chat about "just shiny rocks."

So it turns out those shiny rocks and their antimicrobial properties were well known to generations past. The cream in that pitcher will not sour nearly as quickly. Copper has similar properties, which is why it is the preferred tubing for making a beer or wine chiller. Silver would actually be even better but silver tubing is cost prohibitive and copper is a more than adequate substitute. Many people are looking to return to simpler living off grid. Having some silver and copper urns around may one of the tricks you want to have in your bag.

As far as the precious metals go, I am not really that excited by gold. Just a shiny rock. :) But silver is the shiniest. Silver has a LONG list of things it does better than anything else, including conduct heat and electricity. It also is among the most reflective substances, and can handle an unusually broad range of temperatures. For industrial, medical, food preservation, and more, silver is an exceptionally useful metal. While not rare yet, it is considered "disposable" and that is just insane, we cannot make more of it!
My given name is Mark.
If I could change my name, I would probably go with something more real, like "silvermark" or "idahomark." I am pretty content with longsilver but, here is a peek at Idaho:

DSCF3104.JPG
I won't be offended if you call me Idaho Mark!
I tag @strypes, @abbijulie, @ecoinstant, @cecicastor and @fishyculture

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Thank you so much @longsilver for being part of the challenge

I created for knowing a little more about Steemians' usernames. Great story and great job what you have.

Here you'll find the post that started this challenge. Cheers!

Thank you! I have added the link to the post, this was a GREAT idea!

How fascinating, I always thought your account name was because you had a grey hair ponytail!
12-Matt-White-Ponytail.jpg

I am now much more educated then before, I never realised the antibacterial properties of copper and silver - fascinating. A wonderful insight into your life.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

As soon as I retire, @c0ff33a!
Thanks so much for your incredible support you are truly the most engaged steemian I know.

Thank you for the challenge @longsilver. I will do my best soon to fulfill it.
Love the insight into your longsilver username very interesting.
Love

Thanks for your ongoing kindness and support!

You are wonderful.
Love and Hug your wife.

What interesting thoughts about silver, I felt your passion for it, Good to know the reason behind your name.

Thank you for taking the time to read and comment!

Awesome chemistry lesson Mark. I like idahomark as an alternative.

Thanks Ed! I appreciate you coming by and checking it out!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 02:03:49
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 255.85/200.00
Total Photos: 44
Total comments: 14
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65