Foodphotography - Restaurant Review - Butcher Boy in Singapore - Is this the most expensive Banh Mi ever?

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

Have you tried Vietnamese Banh Mi (aka bread roll usually with pork, pate, pickled carrots, cilantro, chilli and mayonnaise)?

They are one of my favourite Vietnamese Street foods that are also super popular in Australia. Especially in Melbourne, you’ll see stores that focus on Banh Mi only where they make it fresh on the spot for you (similar to subway).

They’re usually around $10 or less for a roll at any store or restaurant.

Anyway, I thought I’d share with you what is the most expensive Banh Mi I’ve ever had.

Last night we went to Butcher Boy on Keong Siak road in Singapore - seems like a lively go-to place on a Friday evening.

Butcher Boy is a fusion - east meets west bar and grill, I didn’t read up on this place before going so was pleasantly surprised when I saw they had one of my favourite dishes on their menu - Banh Mi (of course I had to try it).

This was what was on their menu - I found this pic on their website - however last night instead of duck, we had pork.

A52D9FC7-2FE8-4904-B780-8E11E2FDFAF6.jpeg

Being familiar with the dish I thought 2 serves could mean a bread roll cut in half, so we ordered that along with some skinny fries, crispy pork belly and drinks.

To my surprise, this was what came out for the Banh Mi:

A820705A-0632-430D-AC42-718205F66D50.jpeg

Length ways, they were the size of my thumb! What did it taste like? Albeit small, the fillings tasted just like the traditional Vietnamese Banh Mi. The bread however was small, but too dense and seemed a little stale. Luckily due its miniature size, it didn’t matter too much.

I’ve decided to put my phone away for the evening however since this dish was so ‘unique’, I told my partner I had to take a photo of it.

How much did it cost?

$18. 😆

Pricey, though it gave me a great idea to take away for my future parties and events.

Restaurant overall

  • The crispy pork belly was delicious ($34 for 8 or so small slices)
  • Skinny fries were crispy and has a bit of spices on them, I liked the chilli kick ($12)
  • Kirin beer pint is $14
  • We didn’t have these, however for interest - cocktails were around $20 ++ and Wine was from $15 per glass ++ (I didn’t drink as I’m trying to be healthy)
  • Although these were bite sized meals, the second two dishes didn’t come for at least 10 minutes after the Banh Mi came out
  • There were lots of staff who were super friendly and attentive

Butcher Boy seemed very popular as it was packed when we got there. My biggest qualm is that it was too loud - very loud in fact. It seated like a restaurant however the ambience felt more like I should’ve been breaking out dance 💃🏻 moves on the floor.

After a bit of yelling and ‘sorry I can’t hear you,’ type of conversation, we had our meal and left.

Total bill was just over $102. Good thing I started my new year health kick, otherwise I would’ve left very hungry and unsatisfied.

I recommend Butcher Boy or the Keong Siak road strip for those who want a fun night out in Singapore, kick off their heels, let their hair down and dance the night away. Expect to pay similar prices for food and drinks through the strip.

Restaurant tip

Usually if restaurants don’t publish their prices online, it means they don’t want to scare prospective customers away with the prices

If you like this post, please upvote and follow me for more @lindale

Food photo is mine, snapshot of menu was taken from Butcher Boy website. @originalworks

Sort:  

sounds too pricey for me... I think I will find better food elsewhere ;)

especially for Banh Mi 😆

Hi @lindale, I love Banh Mi but knowing I can get it for under S$2 in Vietnam, a $18 Banh Mi does seem too pricey. Anyway, great photos you got there. I understand that you are also from Singapore. Together with @jrvacation, we are trying to build the #teamsingapore tag. Noticed that you have started to use it! :)

I have upvoted this post and started to follow you. If you want to also help to build the Singaporean community on Steemit, do help to spread the word on the #teamsingapore tag. Thanks!

Hi @culgin, very pricey, especially they were half the size of a small dinner roll, they should've named it 'miniature banh mi' haha. :) Thank you for setting up #teamsingapore, I've followed you and joined the FB community. Look forward to seeing it grow here.

Oh gosh.. miniature banh mi.. lol.. If they taste good, I will still give them some merits. But from your description, I guess they were average?

Thanks for the follow and I too want to see #teamsingapore grow!

Haha yes. It was over in two bites LOL. Hopefully we'll be able to have events in future and meet fellow Singaporean Steemians in person. I'm working on some friends to join!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 00:58:37
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 21.55/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69