You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HIgher Quality Meat for less than $0.50 a serving?

That is great that you are finding smart ways to cut your food cost back. We actually raise more of our meat to cut cost but not everyone has the space to do that. When I do buy meat I prefer to buy uncut meat like beef lip-ons. If you don't know the lip-on is the part they cut ribeyes from. Buying the whole lip-on means I get it cheaper then buying the cuts and I also can cut them as thick or thin as I like along with all the extra trimmings that we use for other things. Even the fat trimmings people throw away are great for chili's or to be ground into hamburger meat. I prefer to do that same with tenderloins and other pieces of meat. Sometimes you have to ask to buy these large whole pieces of meat but they will usually sell them and sometimes at only a $1 or $2 a lb over what they buy them at. I usually spend the same on a whole lip-on that I would for 8 ribeye steaks except I get 12 to 14 cuts out of it the same size plus I get the scraps to use. Just something else maybe you can add to your arsenal of food savings. Lot of great points also. Love using a wok for stir fries.

Sort:  

That is good information for people to know. I'm still too close to the city to be able to raise beef on my little 1 acre. If it was more than just me (my son and DIL live here, but they will not eat my Keto recipes, lol) I would probably do the same.

Why not write the idea up as a post and I will add it to the Sotall Directory. Sotall has its own Steemit account now @sotall. I do an almost daily write up of new "how to" posts I have found and added to the directory at sotall.org. Got to keep all of this great information find-able long after the 7 days from posting.

I got an article typed up for you. I am going to get some pictures added but I did post the article for you already.

Very good. I'll get it added to tomorrow issue to the newsletter! Thanks!

I will get to it when I have time since I would like to make it a little more detailed. I acre is a no go for beef but we raise lots of meat rabbits in a very little space and goat meat is getting to be a big thing if you can cook with it and get use to the taste and you can do very well on an acre with small herds if you split it into 4 padlocks to rotate them or hogs with smaller pens is also within your abilities of space but will all depend on your local laws and zoning of course.

Our local laws are not that great. We can have 1 goat or 4 chickens. That's it. I can't grow much here unless I grow it in the front yard. The back yard is heavily sloped in the wrong direction and 90$ of the back is covered in trees. Not much but edible weeds grow back there. (But I harvest them top when able).

I am trying to sell off all the STUFF Larry and I collected during our marriage. He's passed two years ago and I am ready to downsize and get further away from town. But I am partially disabled and 3/4 of the way blind so I'm a little slow but it's getting there. I just do what I can, as I can and eventually it will all get done.

Sorry to hear that. It can be hard doing things on your own and not in the right type of environment. Keep on cutting those cost any way you can. I bet you are a heck of a couponer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39