HIgher Quality Meat for less than $0.50 a serving?

in #foodphotography6 years ago

With nothing but my meager life savings to live on, I had to find ways to save as much money as possible. I think I have done fairly well as I am now re-adding food back into my long-term storage, while physically spending much less than I use to on food.

Purchasing meats this way and preparing in advance helps me to stay on my Keto Diet and keep everything portioned controlled with getting all OCD over it too.

Learn about your local store

Sometimes we don't have a lot of choices on where to buy food. The little village about 4 miles from me has 2 grocery stores remaining. The only time I go to either of them is when I need something ASAP and don't want to drive all the way into the city. Being so far out, both have higher prices than I can get elsewhere at a lower cost.

There is a local grocery chain called Food Depot that has recently grown to where they now have about 40 stores spread out in an area roughly around Atlanta and out 40 to 50 miles as the crow flies.

Learn when is the best time shop

Most grocery stores have fairly regular times when they receive new shipments. Each usually has its own day of the week that sales start and they tend to mark down items that are about to expire just before the new shipments arrive. At my local Food Depot, the best time for me to find bargains is between 11 am and noon on Tuesday.

Don't be afraid to call a young employee off to the side and ask them when their delivery time usually it. In most stores, the best time to shop is one to two days before their mid-week delivery.

If your local store follows the laws, markdown meats are fine!

Many people believe purchasing marked down meat is dangerous. They've been lead to believe they are filled with bacteria and choosing to eat them will end up giving you botulism. Others think purchasing marked down meats is beneath them. I have actually heard people talk to their companion in a voice I was not supposed to have heard saying things like "I wouldn't be caught dead buying that". I just smile and toss a few more in my buggy knowing they are victims of the constant lies consumers are told to get them to pay more.

A few facts the grocery industry doesn't want you to know

1 - Almost every item that is on a mark down rack is still good AFTER the expiration date has passed. Some are actually good for weeks after the expiration. Meats probably have the least time remaining unless you process them for longer term storage asap, but they are still good for a week or more if kept at proper temperatures.

2 - Most meats are marked down BEFORE they expire. The laws vary by state, but most have some sort of limit on the amount of time they can sell meats after they expire. (many forbid it completely) If it is not expired, the only way it could be bad for your health is if it has been kept at room temperature for too long. Most stores watch this rule like a hawk because the health department can literally walk in at any moment and slap a fine on them if the temp is not correct.

3 - Ground meats can easily be cooked in advance, repackages in portion sizes, frozen and you end up with the main ingredient for your meal available within minutes (with a microwave) You save time and money by purchasing in bulk from the mark-down rack.

Today's Haul

Today I purchased almost 7 pounds of ground chuck and ground market cuts for Almost exactly $13. It works out to about $0.50 per 4 ounce serving.

I tossed it all in the wok and cooked it. Once drained, I'll package it in approximate 1 pound packages (before cooking weight), and freeze. Then I can take out a package and use it all in a casserole, or use just a little for a specific meal, being sure to use the remainder within a week or so.

Cost at other store

The same amount of ground chuck would have cost approximately $28 at the two closest stores to me. Ground chuck is selling for $3.99 a pound around here. I saved over 50% on what is basically the exact same meat. The only difference between the two is one had a few more days till expiration than the other. But both were still legal to sell.

Sort:  

That is great that you are finding smart ways to cut your food cost back. We actually raise more of our meat to cut cost but not everyone has the space to do that. When I do buy meat I prefer to buy uncut meat like beef lip-ons. If you don't know the lip-on is the part they cut ribeyes from. Buying the whole lip-on means I get it cheaper then buying the cuts and I also can cut them as thick or thin as I like along with all the extra trimmings that we use for other things. Even the fat trimmings people throw away are great for chili's or to be ground into hamburger meat. I prefer to do that same with tenderloins and other pieces of meat. Sometimes you have to ask to buy these large whole pieces of meat but they will usually sell them and sometimes at only a $1 or $2 a lb over what they buy them at. I usually spend the same on a whole lip-on that I would for 8 ribeye steaks except I get 12 to 14 cuts out of it the same size plus I get the scraps to use. Just something else maybe you can add to your arsenal of food savings. Lot of great points also. Love using a wok for stir fries.

That is good information for people to know. I'm still too close to the city to be able to raise beef on my little 1 acre. If it was more than just me (my son and DIL live here, but they will not eat my Keto recipes, lol) I would probably do the same.

Why not write the idea up as a post and I will add it to the Sotall Directory. Sotall has its own Steemit account now @sotall. I do an almost daily write up of new "how to" posts I have found and added to the directory at sotall.org. Got to keep all of this great information find-able long after the 7 days from posting.

I got an article typed up for you. I am going to get some pictures added but I did post the article for you already.

Very good. I'll get it added to tomorrow issue to the newsletter! Thanks!

I will get to it when I have time since I would like to make it a little more detailed. I acre is a no go for beef but we raise lots of meat rabbits in a very little space and goat meat is getting to be a big thing if you can cook with it and get use to the taste and you can do very well on an acre with small herds if you split it into 4 padlocks to rotate them or hogs with smaller pens is also within your abilities of space but will all depend on your local laws and zoning of course.

Our local laws are not that great. We can have 1 goat or 4 chickens. That's it. I can't grow much here unless I grow it in the front yard. The back yard is heavily sloped in the wrong direction and 90$ of the back is covered in trees. Not much but edible weeds grow back there. (But I harvest them top when able).

I am trying to sell off all the STUFF Larry and I collected during our marriage. He's passed two years ago and I am ready to downsize and get further away from town. But I am partially disabled and 3/4 of the way blind so I'm a little slow but it's getting there. I just do what I can, as I can and eventually it will all get done.

Sorry to hear that. It can be hard doing things on your own and not in the right type of environment. Keep on cutting those cost any way you can. I bet you are a heck of a couponer.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 21:10:11
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 33.60/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you very much!

Yeah, funny how people are about food that's on markdown. I mean, it still has to be legal to sell it, which means it's still good. But, people are funny about food. Love getting those great deals on meat :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59453.81
ETH 2607.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39