The Layered Leftover Salad

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Layered Leftover Salad #1.jpg

So...for this salad, I grabbed a few things out of the refrigerator and went to work layering my bowl with healthy stuff...in quantities fit for a horse...I like to eat...this has got Romaine Leaf and some short bushy leafed lettuce I found at the store on the way home...it looked pretty damn tasty...so we're about to find out...as always, this is hand shredded after being washed, rinsed and shaken...

LL #2.jpg

I tossed a handful of diced yellow bell peppers and orange bell peppers into the mix next...forgot to take the pic...then covered it with a healthy light layer of alfalfa sprouts...if you can't tell, I like sprouts on my salad...then again, I just like a bowl full of stuff I can eat that won't give me some fuckin' form of cancer...

LL #3.jpg

I hand shredded some cooked...yet cold, pulled them out of the fridge...chicken strips...fed some to the Digger who is always at my heals begging for stuff when I make my salads...for a Chihuahua, I'd say he eats pretty healthy too...loves lettuce and sprouts, as well as the chicken and bell peppers...but he's not a big fan of some of the other stuff...LOL :)

LL #4.jpg

Then I shredded up some more lettuce...covered everything again lightly...and even tore up a few baby spinach leaves to add to the mix...you can never have too many greens in a salad...truth be told, I'm thinking of stepping up my game and getting a slightly bigger bowl...it takes a half ton of salad to satisfy my hunger...especially if I've had a dab or two during the meal prep...

LL #5.jpg

Then I just kind of emptied the leftover containers...whatever was available made its way onto the salad...even if it was a second layer of something previously used...which several of these are...here are more yellow and orange bell peppers...I like a vivid salad as well...color is everything, and the more of it you have in your veggies...the better for your health...

LL #6.jpg

Next came another layer of chicken...if you can call it that...Digger got most of what was in the chicken container because he's a little shit...but he's my little shit and that's how we fuckin' roll up in here...

LL #7.jpg

The final layer of things pulled from the dirt includes a light layer of broccoli sprouts...and a couple small handfuls of crumbled Gorgonzola...because that and Blue Cheese are the ONLY dairy products you should...I'm biased...that's my opinion and I'm sticking with it...

LL #8.jpg

And yet another salad staple...heavy Blue Cheese salad dressing...remember the crumbled Gorgonzola from before...well, that just made the dressing even better...bet you wish you had some right about now...don't ya...?

LL #9.jpg

Then I dressed it up a little bit with some crushed tri-color tortilla strips...and whatever was left in the bottom of that damn mini pepperoni bag...which I was snacking on as I made this bowl of deliciousness... :)

As always, if you enjoyed the read, give us an upvote/resteem so that others can enjoy as well...until next time... :)

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 23:30:17
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 27.40/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow cocleslaw.
It cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64