My homemade spiced coconut vinegar

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Hi steemit friends!

Last week, I was in my hometown to visit my mother. My bestfriend came also and she gave me this 1L of coconut vinegar or what we call "tuba". Tuba is a local alcoholic drink made from the sap of coconut tree. It will become sour after two or three days and then it will be a pure vinegar.

Vinegar is one of the important condiment on a Filipino dining table. I love spiced coconut vinegar as much as I love my morning coffee. Our dining table will never be complete without soy sauce and blend it with a spiced coconut vinegar on the side.

Here is the photo of the coconut vinegar. I put it in the tray with my spices in the kitchen.

Vinegar.jpg

I can't wait to start making my own spiced coconut vinegar. So, I will show you now how I prepared it.

spices.jpg

INGREDIENTS:

1L coconut vinegar
20 pcs. chili picante
1 whole garlic
2 thumb-sized ginger
1 tbsp. whole peppercorns
1tsp. salt
13 pcs. native chili peppers (optional)

PROCEDURE:

  1. Wash the chilies and cut the stems.
  2. Chop the half of the chilies.
  3. Place the chopped chilies inside the bottle. Prick all the remaining chilies with a fork before putting them inside the bottle. I added the native red chili peppers because the chili picante were all green and so that it has something red on the spices and it adds more spiciness.
  4. Slice the ginger into strips and press the garlic cloves for allowing the flavors to come out. Put them inside the bottle.
  5. Pound half of the peppercorns. Put them inside the bottle and also the remaining whole peppercorns. Shake the bottle to mix all the spices.
  6. Store in a safe place for at least 3 days before using it. The longer the storage time, the spicier the vinegar will become.

Here it is, how it looks!

finish product.jpg

It is perfect as dipping sauce for fried and grilled foods.

Sort:  

Yes it is sour and very spicy too!

Awesome photography!the lighting and colors came alive. Very good post @joyapul. Gae ko ha..,hehehe ngayo diay to.

LOL! thanks for the compliment @soulbella ! sure sure tagaan tika. hehehe

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 11:49:20
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 26.20/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

nice post

Tisko Bot
Send 0.200 STEEM/SBD and the URL in the memo to @tisko to use the bot for a resteem and to get 5 good upvots.
Click here to see how to use Tisko Bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78