One busy Monday morning spent in the kitchen

in #foodphotography6 years ago

Like I mentioned in one post ago we had a National holiday yesterday. So I was lucky enough, to have a day off. That's why I decided to be creative. But let's go to the beginning...

20180625_105859.jpg

A month ago I visited my grandma, and I saw that she own one amazing cookbook with tons of recipes. Instantly I decided that I just need one of my own, so I researched a bit and found out, that it was all sold out, and that all are waiting for the book to be reprinted. I was lucky, and I needed to wait just for about fourteen days. When I got it in my hands I just had to make something.

20180625_115845.jpg

I picked two things my family loves - gnocchi and bread. And at that point, I was just too excited that I have the time just to do something, I did one big mistake, which never happened to me before... I managed to make my bread hard as a rock on the outside (I forgot that my oven was set to the highest temperature, and the bread instead of rising a bit in the oven just became hard on the outside instantly...) Ok, they ate it still, but the hard rock crust was a bit too much for them... :) Next time, I will just decide to make one thing at a time, and that one good.

20180625_091241.jpg

But now to my success (hopefully) of the day. According to the book, this is all you need for perfect potato dough, from which the gnocchi are made. 90g of potatoes, 30g of strong flour, 60g of butter/or a bit of vegetable oil if you like it more, some salt, and 3 eggs (I took 4 because they were a bit small).

20180625_095218.jpg

I boiled the potatoes, mash it along with the butter, and leave it to cool down on a table. Then I added salt and eggs, and mix it together with the flour.

20180625_100939.jpg

I had some troubles with the dough, so I had to add some more flour to make the dough enough compact to roll it in "little worms". ;)

20180625_102953.jpg

After that I cut them in randomly sized gnocchi - don't ask - the little one came around and decided to give me a hand. :) A few of them in shape like the letter "C", like my mother was doing when I was young. Maybe you were wondering what's the difference... There is no in the dough, but I decided, that the ones shaped like "C" will be for frying in hot vegetable oil (croquettes), and the others for cooking in the water (gnocchi).

20180625_110105.jpg

After using all the dough I put them all in the freezer, to harden up. Next morning I removed them from tins and put them in different bags. So when we will want to eat them, all we will need is a salted boiling water, in which they will cook until they rise on the surface (stirring just a minute after putting them into the pot will prevent them from sticking to the bottom).

The gnocchi can be served like an independent dish - starter or main (with a sauce from minced meat/tomatoes/cream/mushrooms/cheese,..), or as a side dish to some steak and a sauce. I usually prefer them as a main dish with cream or cheese sauce. I was proud I made my first gnocchi, and I really hope they will be as delicious as I want them to be...

Photos made by me, and my Samsung A5.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-26T19:08:09
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 642.76/800.00
Total Photos: 95
Total comments: 42
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

These picture made my mouth little bit watery as I also wanted to have it. The next time you have national holiday please make something for me too.
@emmamia

Hehe... I think it would be better if you make them yourself. The next National holiday isn't so close.😉

Oh! So please can guide me how to make this ?
@emmamia

I wrote the recipe above in my post. But if this isn't written well, you can just follow this steps. Happy cooking.

Ok thanks. I will follow this steps. Keep updating more.

excellent recipe, i like it

Thank you. I'm glad you like it... 😉

Thanks for the recipe. I love gnocchi with peri peri chicken livers and I will be trying to make my own now.

How nice. The preparation is simple, you just give it a go. You will see that it will taste so differently that bought.

Sorry you're bread rolls turned out a big hard @emmamia but, as you say, you will get it right next time. 😁

Good job with the gnocci. I wonder what else we will see from you recipe book.

What is the name of the food ?

Gnocchi- in the Slovene language "njoki". Check this link with better description and photos of the finished dish.

Super Post!Upvoted!!!

Thank you. Have a nice day.

Oh I love gnocchi! My mom was 100% Hungarian and I was raised on all kinds of ethnic foods!

Ow, really - Hungarian? Amazing...So she was our "neighbour"...😊

About gnocchi - they are fabulous, right?😉

You should join MasterChef Slovenija next year!

Hehe... I think I wouldn't stand a chance. I will remain my family's MasterChef in our own kitchen.😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42