Pecan Cake

The cake shown above is the Family Holiday win for 2016. You see, ever since I can remember my family has always baked during the holidays. I have 9 aunts and uncles so the competition is fierce. My uncle won with his Pecan Cake, and of course I took the photo with my iPhone 6+. There was no way we would all tear into this without first taking a snap.

With so many baked goods to eat, this one was gone in approximately 10 minutes. I am willing to share the winning recipe with you fellow Steemians. Enjoy!

Pecan Cake Recipe

Ingredients

2 cups chopped pecans
1 cup softened butter
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
3 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

FROSTING:
1 cup softened butter
8 cups confection sugar
1 can evaporated milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions

  • Place pecans and 1/4 cup of butter in a baking pan.
  • Bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes or until toasted, stirring frequently; set aside.
  • In a mixing bowl, cream sugar and remaining butter. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  • Combine flour, baking powder and salt; add to the creamed mixture alternately with milk.
  • Stir in vanilla and 1-1/3 cups of toasted pecans.
  • Pour into 3 greased and floured 9 inch round cake pans.
  • Bake at 350° for 25-30 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes; remove from pans to cool on a wire rack.

For frosting, cream butter and sugar in a mixing bowl. Add milk and vanilla; beat until smooth. stir in remaining toasted pecans. Spread frosting between layers and over top and sides of cake. Yield: 12 to 16 servings.

1 piece of cake is 821 calories, 43 grams fat (18g saturated fat), 127 mg cholesterol, 418 mg sodium, 107grams carbohydrate (83 grams sugars, 3 grams fiber), 7grams protein.


Sort:  

You see that UV from onetin84 in the list on your Sending Out Some Love post? That's from me. I missed being able to hit the right one by 9 minutes, so I'll plonk it on this one ... because this looks like my kind of post!! (I've warned you about these food ones!)

This is all because being in Inbox is a "rewarding experience" -- an adventure all its own. Go buy yourself more pecans, ok? They're kind of expensive, you know.

Loading...

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you so much! xx

This looks very appetizing Cass! I have not tried a Pecan cake and we don't do much baking.

But no doubt this is appetizing!

Thank you for stopping by and taking a peek! This is pretty darn good. I appreciate your support. xx🦅

It looks amazing! I'm not a big cake person, but I love pecan, and this truly looks great, so maybe I'll have to give it a shot. Thanks!

Hi @herbrtholmes, this is pretty good! I've gotten away from cake but this one is light and airy. If you try it let me know what you think! xx
You can probably even substitute the white flour with almond flour and it would be lighter. :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 6.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.23
Server time: 04:43:41
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 226.21/400.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 36
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50