Chicken Soup Eases The Winter Blues

in #foodphotography7 years ago (edited)

unnamed-11.jpg

Sometimes I wonder how in the world did I end up moving back into cold country. True, the snow is nowhere near as bad as New York, but it is bad enough. I found it even stranger that they do not salt or sand the roads here in Colorado. To ease my weepy bones I cheer myself up with making chicken soup. I change it up every time, but there is a solid foundation for a soup that sings to your soul. Here is the basic recipe I use, and hopefully you find it to your liking.

Step 1

Purchase organic ingredients and lay them out for the first initial assessment.

unnamed.jpg

Step 2

Believe it or not the pot matters, so get yourself a double bottomed 8-quart pot pronto.

unnamed-1.jpg

Step 3

Pour high quality olive oil into the bottom of the pot, the one shown is what I am recently using and it is delicious.

Step 4

Peel, smash and place 6 garlic cloves into the pot with the oil over Medium heat. Stir often and do not let the garlic burn.

unnamed-4.jpg

Step 5

Cut the chicken in half and place it in the bottom of the pot. Add salt and pepper on all sides. Cook until you see a slight browning on all sides.

Step 6

Add 1 onion that is cut into thin pieces, like so. Allow to cook until you can tell that more of the center of the chicken looks cooked on Medium heat, then add one container of chicken broth so the chicken does not burn. Keep the chicken moist by always keeping moisture on the bottom of the pot, and lid on.

unnamed-8.jpg

Step 7

Once the chicken is cooked enough throughout the inside to where you see no pink, place more chicken broth in the pot. Typically, I use at least 3 containers of organic less-salt chicken broth and at least 6 cups of filtered water. At this step I add a little organic pureed tomato sauce for color and taste. Allow to cook for at least 15 minutes.

unnamed-18.jpg

Step 8

Add a little more organic chicken broth, fresh Rosemary, and Herbes de Provence spices. Let the soup continue to cook on Medium heat until the liquid goes down. Keep adding chicken broth and filtered water for approximately 1 hour.

Step 9

After 1 hour has passed, it is now time to add 2 stalks of celery with the leaves, 4 carrots chopped anyway you prefer, Rosemary, fresh parsley and more salt and pepper to taste. I add red pepper flakes too. Continue to cook the soup without allowing the liquid going lower than 3/4 of the pot, and until the vegetables are cooked all the way through.

unnamed-22.jpg

Step 10

The last step in the chicken soup making process is to add noodles or potatoes or both. In this recipe I found these almond flour noodles that were to die for. I found them in the refrigerator like any Italian Deli in New York City. Hand made and tasted just as good, if not better. Cook until the noodles, potatoes or both are finished.

Bon Appetit!


Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 6.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.21
Server time: 04:43:38
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 213.91/400.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 36
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Gee thanks now I'm hungry. I just laid down and now I'm hungry. Guilt trip guilt trip.
No seriously though thanks for reminding of pleasant memories of long ago when mom always had a pot of soup going for those cold Oklahoma winters. Now I'm stuck here in South Texas where Tamales and Caldo do the trick. Blessings sister.

OH snaps! Sorry my brother. Big Hugs. Come by and I'll gladly share. (:
LMAO Guilt trip and hungry. hahahaahahah You can get Posole or Menudo with homemade tortillas!! xx

Hooray. I may take you up on the food offering if I can find time to get out of my sandbox down here. Summer is coming in a week or two and it'll be 6 days a week until turkey time before I'll be a able to break free from work again.
If you make it down this way you'll be well fed and be sweeping sand out of that jeep of yours for months and months.

LOL!! Too funny!! My cousin lives near Aberdeen. I drive through Texas 3 times. What a drive. Thank you for the well fed part. Yay! xx

PERFECT comfort food in our house!

My husband LOVES chicken soup and I make it every few weeks from November through April. Nothing says homemade like this!

I know right! Do you have a diffferent process? Any other ingredients you use that are different? @goldendawne.

We don't like celery so I use celery seed- just enough to flavor it but not overwhelming.

How did you find a guy that doesn’t like the same thing you do? Match made in heaven! Lol
Celery seed is just as good!

this is a delicious looking soup - wow! reminds me a lot of the caldo i used to make, almost exactly like this, with added chunks of corn on the cob.

Hi @twinislandflames, I have to go look at caldo now! Thank you for your comment, you use French herbs too? I switch it up almost every time lol
I wish I could eat corn. I try to stay away. No bueno for my digestion. You use almond flour noodles too?

my favourite spices are cumin & coriander, but i also do like adding in a bit of rosemary in soups. just a bit, so that it hides behind the other spices & people kind of wonder "hey .... what is that?"

i've never had almond flour noodles, but i'd love to try them! i've found some made from chickpea flour, those were interesting.

Those spices sound good, I’ll try them in the soup next time. The noodles are amazing, I cooked clams in white wine sauce over the noodles last night and wow, so good!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Yay, thank you! xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82