You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Working on my BBQ game

in #foodphotography6 years ago

Sweet... Small World! Gotta LOVE a braai pie.

P.S. You're welcome BTW.
As far as I know I was the first to post the recipe on the Internet and demo on TV... back in 2010 sometime (unfortunately a friend of mine invented the actual recipe, and I can't take the credit for that part :P).

Sort:  

Good stuff. I discovered it myself a few years back on Imgur. I had to do some modifications since its hard to find onion marmalade. It's also hard to find those braai baskets/grid thingies. Most of the ones they sell here stateside are too small to accommodate the pastry dough properly.

Yeah... you can pretty much use anything you want as the filling... I've got a @dtube video up where I make a dessert braai pie too if you're interested.

Re the "braai baskets/grid thingies":
We call them Toeknyp Roosters (aka "fold-up grids" - I don't think they even have a name in English :P).
Did you eventually find one and/or what did you use?

We normally go compete BBQ in The Jack and World Food Champs in the States every year, and would have gladly brought one with me... but this year, we're inviting the American teams to come compete here in SA instead. I can send one back with one of them if you'd like? Unfortunately that's only happening in September though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58324.43
ETH 3144.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38