Fire up the grill!

in #foodphotography6 years ago

My wife and I live in an area that gets a significant amount of snow over the Winter. While the snow makes it more difficult to grill out, we still do it as much as we can no matter the season.

There is something about Spring and Summer though when you can finally start sitting out on the deck while the grilling is actually happening.

Working the grill and hanging out on our deck is one of my favorite Spring/Summer activities.

Please be aware, I am not an expert, I would never claim to be. I am pretty handy around a grill though, and I have honed some techniques over the years that I feel make me pretty adept at grilling.

As you can see in the picture, on this particular occasion we were grilling brats. I know a lot of purists say that you need to boil your brats before you grill them. I have never done that though.

I like to indirect grill the brats on a charcoal grill as shown above. Notice that the brats are away from the coals on the other side of the grill. Cooking them this way takes a bit longer, and also leaves the skin a little "tougher", but it does a fantastic job of sealing in the juices. I have received many positive comments on the juiciness of my brats by cooking them this way.

After 30 to 45 minutes I could tell they were ready so I pulled them off.

When I cook them the way I have described above, they tend to shrivel up shortly after you take them off the heat.

They may look funny, but don't worry, the juiciness is still locked inside and ready for you to savor.

The curved brats are "western" brats. They are made of pork, cheese, onions, and peppers. Just like a western omelette. We get them from a local meat market that makes them in-house. The straighter brats are my wife's since she doesn't really eat pork.

We also pick those up from a different local meat market. They are chicken garlic parmesan and though I prefer pork brats I can testify that the chicken ones are also very good.

IMG_20180422_172542.jpg

I cut into one of my brats so you could see what it looks like inside. They are also so large that it makes it much easier to fit in the bun and eat.

Take note of the pink smoke ring around the outside of the brat and how juicy it still is inside. This picture also gives you a good idea of how much cheese and veggies they pack these with.

Finally, we topped our meal off with some canned baked beans (I plan on learning to make my own in the near future), and some homemade potato salad.

My wife makes a potato salad that is some stiff competition for my late Grandma's. Her secret is she puts a little bit of dill relish in it. I can't tell you how much though :)

IMG_20180422_172811.jpg

Thanks for stopping by. We are just getting started with the grilling season, so I hope to bring many more posts to you over the Summer!

All pictures in this post were taken by yours truly.

Many of my posts have been featured in The STEEMEngine and Steemrepair, check them out:

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

When I saw you were grilling brats I instinctively thought of

However as your brats dont look like the above, I guess this is 'american' for sausages. Not heard the term before.

It's actually short for bratwurst. So the pronunciation here is more like brahht's. If that makes sense :)

Yes, thats makes a lot more sense. We get these at our Xmas markets from the German sellers.

Now that I see these pictures, I think that a barbecue will fall for the weekend.
for me sausages also go directly to the barbecue.

@ivan78

Awesome! Glad I could offer some inspiration! Nice to hear that I am not the only one who doesn't boil!

yum I'm on the same boat as you, we're so happy to see spring coming (not until las weekend I'd call it as spring, since we had lots of snow). I'm considering to get a BBQ as well, to enjoy as much the summer

Yes, we still have some big piles of snow that are not melted yet. They are calling for temps in the 70s by next week though. I see some more grilling in my future for the weekend!

Not quite that warm here yet, but you sure make it tempting to go fire up the barbecue!

We are getting ready for some cold temps here again until the weekend. I cold front is coming through bringing some rain with it today.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:04:56
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 480.60/200.00
Total Photos: 67
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

C'mon man you cannot post these kinds of posts hahah just kidding I meant to say this is looking so delicious that I'm a bit jealous and it got me hungrier and hungrier the more I read :D :D

Anyway, I really enjoyed the post... Now let me eat hahaha :D Have a great day!

Sorry! Better stay away from my feed then, I hope to post a lot more as the weather gets warmer and warmer! :) Thanks for the comment and compliments!

THose look so good save one for me

Thanks! Next time for sure :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #117 (4/27/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75