Modern & Chic Italian @ Le Coq en Pâte (Brussels, Belgium)

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

In Brussels. I had been meaning to go to this modern and elegant Italian restaurant Le Coq en Pâte for a while as many of my friends said great things about them, specially for their lunch. Finally I had a chance to come by with two of my friends who always know the best place to eat in Brussels.

Le Coq en Pâte


Tomberg 259
B-1200 Brussels
(Woluwe-Saint-Lambert)
Belgium
http://lecoqenpate.be/

20180228_205924.png

Modern & Chic Italian


The restaurant is located in one of the pleasant residential areas in Brussels (Woluwe-Saint-Lambert). They say they are an Italian restaurant, but not the usual antipasti, pasta, pizza type of place, more towards French/Belgian style, serving modern and innovative dishes using high quality fresh ingredients from Italy.

20180228_205134.png

pipette olive oil


Their freshly baked bread was delicious, but the pipettes filled with olive oil were the most eye catching - I liked it. I always get inspiration from restaurants for the times I organise a dinner party, I might try to use this idea - pipette olive oil ... (let me quickly check Amazon if they sell some pipettes .............. yep they do.)

20180228_205348.png

Lunch Menu


The lunch menu I chose started with beautifully presented amuse bouche (always my favourite part), then artichoke soup with foie gras (very Italian, very nice), then fillet of beef dish as a main course (well-cooked and tender), then dessert full of joy and creativity (today's best part) plus coffee and some more extra sweet things.

20180228_205953.png
Artichoke soup with foie gras

Today's Best Part - Dessert Platter


Dessert platter: (from top) chocolate brownie, some kind of mousse (sorry I forgot), crème brûlée, nougatine ice-cream, flower pot tiramisu and panna cotta - all beautifully presented and tasted fantastic!

20180228_210041.png

This mini flower pot tiramisu... It's served in the tiniest flower pot I've ever seen, which is decorated with a little basil leaf on top as a 'plant' in the edible 'soil' (chocolatey biscuit crumbles). At first it looks wrong to eat it, but then once you put some 'soil' in your month, it tastes great - isn't that fun?

From the amuse bouche to the desserts, it was a delightful experience. Highly recommended if you're in the area!

ps. This restaurant is a winner of a ‘Bib Gourmand’ from the Michelin Guide.

Do you like the idea of 'pipette olive oil' and 'tiny flower pot tiramisu'?

Sort:  

The beef filet must have been really good. You probably started eating and thought of the pic after you finished it. I’ve had that a few times, but it’s a good sign. Correct me if i’m wrong.😄

Hehe you're right tomber, I always do that :D I was fully focus on my main course and chatting with friends, you know when three women gather..! Btw, I always wonder if it's not annoying to the people working in a restaurant (chef, staff) when customers are taking photos of each single plate?

I also do it, so what can i say.🤷‍♂️

It looks like a restaurant that fits the sensibility of a woman.( ・∀・)KAWAII♪
The idea of olive oil is very good to not to overuse the oil!

Yes initially it seems a bit strange to use the pipette, but then you'll find it fun eventually. I like it when I see those creative ideas came from the chefs at restaurants. And you're right, the dessert platter was so 'Kawaii'!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 09:07:19
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 35.80/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23