Poached Eggs with Roasted Brussel Sprouts

in #foodphotography6 years ago

I had some great left-overs in my refrigerator from the St. Patrick’s Day weekend. I had made roasted brussels sprouts with balsamic vinegar and had some leftover guacamole. So, I decided to re-create a breakfast I had enjoyed at a local bistro – Poached Eggs with Brussels Sprouts. The trick is the layer of guacamole. It adds a creamy spicy richness to the cabbagey balsamic brussels sprouts and richness of the poached eggs.

Poached Eggs and Brussels Sprouts #1.jpg

Poached eggs are not hard. Fill a shallow pan with water add a splash of white vinegar. Bring to a full boil. One at a time add eggs to the water. Bring pan back up to a boil, then reduce heat. My cooktop retains a lot of heat so I can turn it off and it is hot enough to finish the eggs cooking. It is only a couple of minutes. You don’t want a hard cook on the egg. Remove eggs from water with slotted spoon, so the water drains off the eggs.

Eggs poached #2.jpg

To prep the plate, start with a thin layer of guacamole. Re-heat brussels sprouts and layer over guacamole. Top brussels sprouts with poached eggs. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Enjoy!

Sort:  

The poached eggs, I like them a lot, I accompany them with delicious pink sauce, by the way I see that you are a good cook, that's very good

The Brussels sprouts I think these are some small cabbages, you know what that is? here in my country we do not get Brussels sprouts but those cabbages but they are big, it looks very rich the poached eggs is a good way to eat eggs I love

i don't think i've seen other small cabbages. maybe they're just bigger in your country.

They are of the same round shape and their leaves but here in my country they are much bigger and they are called cabbage, it is interesting to see that there are similar but smaller ones

AJ picked your post @altportal for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

You got a 66.67% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @altportal!

Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .05 SBD to @brandonfrye with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to the bot for daily passive earnings. Learn more here

This post has received a 19.48% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @altportal. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This post has received a 33.33% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:54:10
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 15.15/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Hi, I came here for these pictures of food that I saw on the food label, this looks very cool. I like vegetables, those roasted suns look great, I like to make many roasted vegetables, the idea of the egg is good I did not know it, every day I learn something new here at STEEMIT

This post has received a 6.48 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29