Creating an Entirely New Image with a $2 Board | Food Photography

in #foodphotograhy6 years ago (edited)

highres-8614.jpg
Final Image


The First Shot

I began today's shoot covering an assortment of salads. Which look great on this table top, but for this dry ramen dish I thought something different was in order. As you can see below, the image looks fine and depicts the dish well. But as I looked over I saw my black foam core board (purchased at Michael's on sale for $2!!!).

highres-8610.jpg

Adding the Foam Board

Here are some the edited final images using the black board as a background. I really like the simple and elegant vibe it creates. I've been drawn to the style while working with Japanese dishes like this one.

highres-8618.jpg

highres-8619.jpg

highres-8614.jpg

Additional Notes

For lighting, I used a combination of available window light and a handheld flash at 1/2 power. I placed this in a small octobox modifier to camera left. To the right of the dish, I positioned another back foam board to absorb the reflection, creating a more dramatic image.


Camera InfoDescription
CameraCanon 5D Mark III
LensTamron 24-70mm VC

Thanks for checking out my post, I hope this helps any of you food photographers out there. Let me know if you have any questions about my shots today!

Bradford Tennyson


Useful Tools & Links

Use SteemFollower to boost exposure
Sign up for the KuCoin Exchange
Sign up for the BinanceExchange


Follow me @bradfordtennyson! Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

Hi @bradfordtennyson. Food photography has always existed, but lately culinary photography has become a trend, increasingly popular and well received. It is definitely an art to get results as good as your photos. An illumination that makes clear the textures and colors of the food. You make them attractive and appetizing. Congratulations

Hola. La fotografía de alimentos siempre ha existido, pero últimamente la fotografía culinaria se ha convertido en una tendencia, cada vez más popular y bien recibida. Definitivamente es un arte obtener resultados tan buenos como tus fotos. Una iluminación que deja en claro las texturas y los colores de la comida. Los haces atractivos y apetitosos. Felicitaciones.

Thanks so much for your kind words. I completely agree with you, food photography has grown into such an interesting article genre with an abundance of creativity!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56