Ginataang Monggo

in #foodie4 years ago

hp0860.jpg

This recipe reminds me of my childhood. It makes me feel nostalgic. I remember I always run to my mom and beg for money to buy 1 serving of this in our school canteen. The aroma of toasted mung beans is inviting and irresistible.

My older sister went to market yesterday and bought ingredients. It’s my first time to cook this so I just helped her in the kitchen.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup monggo or mung beans
2 cups glutinous rice
4 cups of water
2 cups fresh gata or coconut milk
1 1/4 cup sugar

PROCEDURE

  • Heat pan and toast the mung beans. Let it cool down for few minutes.
    ywsprl.jpg
  • Pound coarsely the mung beans using mortar and pestle. Set aside.
    a03nbb.jpg
  • Wash glutinous rice twice or same as when you wash ordinary rice. Pour 4 cups of water, then place over the stove under medium heat. Let it boil.
    kli4g0.jpg
  • Stir occasionally.
  • Once it boils, pour the pounded monggo. Simmer for 10 minutes
    6n3wmw.jpg
  • Add the fresh coconut milk. Simmer for 5 minutes.
    kjhkq3.jpg
  • Then add the sugar. Stir and let it simmer for 5 minutes more.
    6i5l6h.jpg
  • Turn off the heat.
  • Serve while still hot. Enjoy!

yb2xqc.jpg

vmh4sn.jpg

Other prefer to eat this cold.

This dish is usually eaten as a snack in the afternoon. But since we cook it at lunchtime, it became my meal for lunch today. I’m so full and my tummy is happy.


@el-dee-are-es

You can also check this post on PeakD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79