Desserts That Make Me Go Weak In The Knees | Mom's Homemade Sweets...

in #foodgasm7 years ago (edited)

I have a major sweet tooth, and my affinity for desserts is only equaled by my liking for a hot cup of tea. Yes – I’m addicted to tea as well. Is there anyone who doesn't love desserts? - well, there could be a gazillion candidates for that. The point is...

The Backstory

Growing up in a house where both parents were capable of cooking lip-smacking dishes meant I was spoilt for choice. Having an older brother who like gazillion other people didn’t like sweets meant I was the sole kid being fed questionable amounts of something that is known to cause weight gain and inspire random bursts of awesomeness. But hey, it was all in the name of love, so I’m cool with it!

Desserts aren’t just the perfect way to end a meal, in India sweets are served at places of worship as well. Did you know India is home to over 2000 types of desserts? Thank god I was only served 1% of that!

ImgSrc

The Present

Unfortunately, now that I’ve started going to the gym to accomplish some impossible fitness goals I’ve set for myself this year, I’ve cut down on the ungodly amounts of sugar I was pumping into my body.

Worse, I’ve replaced it with a healthy diet that sadly doesn’t induce as much craziness. So to satisfy the sweet cravings that I feel oh so very often, I’ve compiled a list of top five Indian desserts that my Mom makes at home and which I absolute love (and miss).

Gajar Ka Halwa

Carrot Delight

A sweet dish made from grated carrots slow cooked in milk with sugar, it’s served with a garnish of cashews, almonds and pistachios.

ImgSrc

This surprisingly sweet and succulent dessert can be eaten either hot or cold. I personally love to have it with a few scoops of ice-cream. Yum!

Jalebi

The Roller-Coaster

A dessert that’s made by soaking deep fried wheat flour paste in sugar syrup, these juicy little suckers come in pretzel or circular shapes.

ImgSrc

Chewy and crusty, they are served at weddings and festivals with generous drippings of sweetened condensed milk (as if the existing calories weren’t enough). They can be eaten either warm or cold.

Kheer

River of Desire

A rice pudding that is made by boiling rice with milk and sugar, it’s creamy and delicious, flavored with raisins, cashew nuts and saffron.

ImgSrc

Mesmerizing and delicious, this popular dish is simple to prepare.

Coconut Burfi

Surf the Nut

Lusciously chewy, this sweet delicacy is made with coconut that’s been cooked in milk and garnished with dry fruits.

Img

Round or diamond shaped with a distinct melt in the mouth coconut flavor, they are tasty and refreshing.

Gulab Jamuns

Balls of Heaven

Similar to a dumpling, this dessert is made from milk-solids. The resultant dough from reduction of milk is shaped into small balls, then deep fried and soaked into a sugar flavored syrup.

ImgSrc

Popular during gatherings and functions, this is my all time favorite. I have probably consumed several thousands of these since childhood.


Yes, I'm aware the ample topping of dry fruits and nuts in every goddamn dessert is a hidden conspiracy to pack on the pounds. Isn’t that just perfect!

If only my body was magically blessed with accelerated metabolism, I could eat these all day. For now I'll just have to live with staring at these pictures and of course there's Cheat Day Sunday. Ever tried an Indian dessert? If not go nourish your taste buds with something new, sweet and exciting. Love! Peace!


Vote, Share, Follow @jznsamuel . Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Yum! Hope to taste one those! 😻🤤

thanks, you should surely try sometime @ninyea !

Thank you for so interesting deserts. That one Gajar Halva - something similar I like to make also here in Lithuania, but it is like carrots cake - also carrots with sugar and milk and some hazelnuts . Very delicious. My whole family like sweets a lot

thanks for sharing the information @ilonalt . will try to taste it someday. sweets are one of life's guilty pleasures :)

Is that India food ? :)

yes these are different Indian sweet dishes.

Wow, I really need to check out that coconut burfi thing. Google it is!

glad you like it. thank you ! and do try it :)

Gulab Jamuns are my favorite! I mean, if you dropped me into a bucket of them I COULD eat my way out. Or at least, I would make it out onto the pavement where I would expire from sugary delicious overload. THEY ARE SO GOOD!

i'm glad we share the same enthusiasm and love for GULAB JAMUNS !
haha you'll certainly survive to tell your awesome tale.

I will be certain to tell you all about. In fact, if I ever get my hands on a huge vat of them I will invite you over to help!

@jennswall haha, I'd be happy to assist. followed you, to keep our crazy gulab-jamun discussion going :)

Unfortunately I am too far away from any area that MIGHT have a vat that I could fall in... :( BUT we do have a great Morrocan community here and I can get my hands on some sweets that are delicious as well. I'll try to get the name and a picture of something similar to the gulab-jamun and post it for you this weekend!

looking forward to it, sounds tempting :)

Yummy post.. :-) I might drag myself to a shop now to taste them..

you definitely should, they are delicious :)

Wow this looks amazing !

it is, you should try it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47