EATING IS ABOUT SURVIVAL, RIGHT? Food Fight Friday

Before getting to my entry for #fff I would just like to ask my #fff friends and anyone else who may stumble into this post a couple of ???

  • Do you have Life Insurance?

  • Do you have Car Insurance?

  • Do you insure your home or the contents of a dwelling you may be renting?

  • Do you insure yourself if you are injured and can't go to work?
    Aflac Duck
    tenor.gif

The list of the things we insure, seems to be ever growing.

  • THE LAST QUESTION I ASK IS DO YOU HAVE INSURANCE FOR YOUR

IMG_0913.JPG

When I look at all of the things I insure, the most important one is my family.

The money we spend on insuring all of our STUFF can add up to thousands of dollars year after year.

Now lets take a look at what it would cost to insure that our loved ones would be able to eat, and therefor be able to survive during an emergency situation.

The meal I prepared for this #fff entry, is all about doing just that, insuring our loved ones.

During an emergency, eating comes down to survival.

Food 4 Patriots is the company where this meal comes from.

IMG_0942.JPG
https://secure.food4patriots.com

These meals have been prepared and packaged for a shelf life of 25 years.

All aspects of this business take place right in the USA.

The meals included in this package were free as part of a promotional deal.

I do believe that this offer is a still available to potential customers.

IMG_0944.JPG

The Maple Grove Oatmeal is the dish I slaved over!

IMG_0943.JPG

1 cup of boiling water

1/2 cup of oatmeal

I love the warnings that come with the package that helps to preserve the meals.

IMG_0945.JPG

Dump the stuff in and boil for one minute.

Stir occasionally.

IMG_0946.JPG

After letting it stand for a couple of minutes it's ready to go down the hatch, which is exactly what I did.

It's not the first time I forgot to take a picture of the final dish, woofed this down right from the pot.

No extra dishes needed.

Sealing the meals back up with a vacuum sealer should surfice.

IMG_0947.JPG

With the air removed and the red light indicating that the package is being sealed it is almost ready to go back into storage.

IMG_0950.JPG

Tight as a drum

IMG_0953.JPG

Food 4 Patriots sell many different size survival packages.

Lets just take a look at their best seller.

Cost $500

536 servings

meals provide 98,160 calories

Depending on how much family insurance you want to carry will determine your annual cost.

For simplicity sake I am going to go with a $1000.00 of this product.

Lets do the math.

$1,000 divided by 25 years = $40 per year.

Now that isn't bad, especially when we compare $40/year to the thousands we spend every year insuring stuff who's value doesn't compare.

I like wagering, Hell, I even put a bet in on a World Cup Soccer Match several years ago. I had to listen to those dam horns the fans blew the entire game. My bet would be that an emergency situation of some magnitude will occur in the next 25 years.

If I were the bookie, the line on a major economic and monetary meltdown occurring in the next 25 years would be 25 to 1.

Hope you enjoyed, more importantly I hope you're insured!

thebigsweed

Sort:  

Good luck in Round 26 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma.
125BBBF8-726F-41EA-BB39-4F1622EE09F8.gif

Hey @thebigsweed, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in a Your reply to their post. Call me out!!

I sure am glad you accepted that #fff invititation awhile back, it’s always nice to see you in the kitchen on Fridays. Now your wife is in on it, it makes for a great time if you ask me.

“My favorite Friday of the week” to be precise.

Great entry @thebigsweed, way to utilize the platform to send a message that needed to read—love it. I just realized I’m guilty of insurance everything except for our stomachs. <— I’m doing it wrong! Thanks for the heads up. 👍🏿

Thanks for the kind reply. It has been my pleasure to get to know you and the others involved with #fff. Having #farm-mom on-board only makes this experience that much more enjoyable. By the way, when are you guys making the big move, I know you have gone to Costa Rica to check it out, but are you living there permanently yet.

Loading...

Hey @thebigsweed.

In my office where I'm making this comment, I sit right next to a couple tall racks of the freeze dried food. I can't remember what it cost, but it was similar to what you did, I think.

We need to get into ours more. I think we're close to ten years with our stack, and we've not touched a whole lot. What we've tried has been pretty good, but there always seems to be something a tad off with the full blown meals. Not sure if we have any oatmeal (I'd have to check the list).

I am in full agreement with you about insuring our families have something to eat in the event of some kind of emergency. I still need to work on the water supply to prepare the food with. Probably should get on that. :)

Hopefully our supply of emergency food is never needed. Water is key, and there are many ways to take water that is not drinkable and make it potable.
Being prepared does give one a sense of security. Turning a blind eye to any issue that may jeopardize our well-being will surely cost us in the long run.

good job #thebigsweed...but I pray I don't have to eat that stuff

I tell you what...you have got it goin over in your neck of the woods. Every time I think about getting some sustainable foods like that, I just don’t have the funds for it. You have just got me thinking of a way to set some $$ aside to Insure that I get some of this belly insurance.

As far as the water goes, I invested in the Big Berkey Water filter. I can run stagnant pond water through that bad boy. It sits on the counter and utilizing their fluoride filters, it cleans up this water nicely. I don’t have city water but we have a huge community well of some sorts. Also being in a big AG area there are tons of chemicals being sprayed on a daily basis. That is also where the Berkey comes in and cleans up the mess.
Thanks for the informative post and the price breakdown. When you look at it the way you stated it seems pretty silly not to have any of this sustainable food.
Happy Food Fight Friday.

Posted using Partiko iOS

When we were in the middle of raising our family as you guys are now, an extra buck was hard to come by. Stretching a buck always involved some creativity, good luck with your plan.

This is the second time I have heard mention of the Big Berkey Water Filter. Water in this region is fantastic. Very little real farming in this region any longer. Thousands of acres of State Forests and Big time hunting clubs, own property all around us. Very fortunate in that regard.

Ya, when you look at the cost/year it does seem pretty silly not to have the coverage.

I have only had my reserve food in storage for about 2 years now.
I always thought it was a crazy idea, thinking, how could things ever get that bad.
Well, @jlsplatts it just doesn't seem so outlandish of an idea any longer.
Things seem to get a little crazier everyday.

Next time I get some OT at work I’m definitely going to be getting some. You know when people just need that little extra push to get something done and stop procrastinating? I think that is just what you did right there.
Crazy....you ain’t seen nothin yet. Lol

Howdy sir bigsweed! you scarfed it down before you got a picture of it! lol. that means it was good or you was starved! I agree and that company is a great one too. Its the most important type of insurance.
the odds...you're saying the odds of it happening is the 25 or the 1?

Ha! that's a great photo at the top, did you fall or were you down there on purpose?

The 25 to 1 odds are the odds I set, that within the life of the survival food, which is 25 years something is coming down. $40.00 dollars for a years insurance that our loved ones will eat sounds like a good policy to me.
It is very much like car insurance, you hope and pray that you never have to use it.

@janton, I slid into position just before the camera went off.
Everyone was telling me I would miss the picture or I was going to get hurt, no one knew the old man was still that quick.
It hurt, they were all betting against me 😢😢😢.
Well, I not only did it for this photo, I must have done it 6 or 7 times, but in the other photos, I could not keep the dogs out of my face.
IMG_0912.JPG

haha! howdy sir bigsweed! oh that's hilarious, now I see what you were doing, that's too funny. Hey you were a gifted athlete and you still got it! or at least some of it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61