You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spicy Couple's Night in the Kitchen

My god, you knocked it out of the park with this one. You’re making your own cheese now, are you kidding me?! Incredible! Big big round of applause for @creationofcare taking on the dirty dish monster. I know how unruly they can get. Great job team! This is a winner. Dandays and I have never had Indian food (I know, I know) so maybe it’s about time we try it. Thanks for the inspiration @mattlovell. Now go help with the dishes- the messier the kitchen the tastier the food.

Sort:  

Thank you so much! Your comments always make me smile a huge bashful grin. I have been wanting to make cheese for some time now, but kinda wanted to hold out for some grass fed milk. Glad to take the plunge with basic supermarket whole milk (cannot be ultra pasteurized.) If you are lacto vegetarian, not vegan, "farmer's cheese" might become a favorite. It doesn't have any rennet, only lemon juice and yogurt cause the curds to form. I was awkward making it this first time, but on the whole, it is simple and straightforward. Next time, i will make a gallon's worth. Cheers!

No reason to be bashful, you’re a kitchen gangsta and we all know it. We do not eat dairy, anymore that it, but have found a couple vegan cheeses that aren’t bad. I think every dish I make I get awkward in the kitchen. My husband knows, just stay away until it’s finished or I’ve hit a down point. I’ve never tried my hand at a cheese, way too ambitious for me but you guys killed it. Who can make making cheese look easy?! You did! Great job and I’m impressed that you can also work so cohesively in the kitchen. I’m a Tasmanian devil in there so it’s best everyone just enjoy the results and leave the process up to me. Haha

I HIGHLY recommend you try it! a whole WORLD of vegetarian flavor awaits you there...

Do you have a newbie recommendation for a go to dish…? We also have no idea what is a common good dish that veggie eaters enjoy. Thanks @mattlovell, did I already tell you that you and creationofcare killed it this week? Just in case you forgot 🤷🏼‍♀️

You could try the saag paneer above. I think tofu would work nicely for a cheese substitute here. I might spice to the flour a bit (at least salt and pepper) before frying it.

Another dish I like is Cauliflower Masala or Aloo Gobi (cauliflower and potatoes). I think sweet potatoes might work really well in Aloo Gobi too... might have to try that.

Don't be afraid of the spices, and I would probably be prepared to go half again if your spices are pre-mixed or ground. (I would probably go with whatever the recipe calls for, but be prepared to add some more at the end). a final addition of Garam Masala is often used at the end of cooking to add aromatics anyway...

Man, thank you for all of the info. The potato cauliflower dish sounds right up my alley. I ran the idea by my husband and he’s in for an Indian food experience. Now I just have to find a good restaurant by our house. I’d definitely like to taste a couple dishes before I try my hand at cooking one. Thanks again for all the great tips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67