#FoodFightFriday Steak, Polenta, and Blistered Cherry Tomatoes

in #foodfightfriday6 years ago (edited)

20180727_215256~2.jpg
Today I discovered a recipe for my abundant crop of cherry tomatoes that my husband actually liked! The creamy parmesan polenta forms the perfect base for the little balls of rich tomato sauce flavor and juicy flap steak. A nice "power greens" salad with my own lemon cukes complete the meal with a refreshing finish.

Polenta

20180727_220811-ANIMATION.gif

First, sweat some garlic in butter and olive oil. Add 32 oz of chicken broth and bring to a boil. Pour in a cup of polenta, stirring constantly. Simmer for 40 minutes. Add 3/4 cup cream and some fresh grated parmesan cheese. Salt and pepper to taste.

Seared Flap Steak

20180727_202801~2.jpg

Season the steak with salt, pepper, garlic, and olive oil. Next time, will add a dash of Worcestershire sauce. Sear on a smoking hot pan for about 6 minutes.

20180727_212441~2.jpg

Remove and set aside.

20180727_213144~2.jpg

Slice against the grain to serve.

20180727_214524~2.jpg

Blistered Cherry Tomatoes

20180727_220753-ANIMATION.gif

Immediately add a bunch of cherry tomatoes to the hot pan. Stir in some garden fresh chilies (I used serrano and cayenne), plus 3 sliced scallions. Cook, stirring, until the tomatoes blister and release their juice into the sauce. Season with a dash of Worcestershire, soy, and a squeeze of lemon.

Voila!

20180727_215256~2.jpg

Bon appetit, Food Fight Fridayers!

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Inspiration recipe here https://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2014/06/seared-skirt-steak-blistered-cherry-tomato-polenta-recipe.html

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Thank you so much! <3

Images with steam (Steem for all intended purposes), a couple of Gif’s.. It’s hot in that kitchen.

I am glad not to have used the other night's grill offering, since it nearly the same as @weirdaches menu! I have to admit, seeing his offering forced me to ip my game with the cherry tomatoes at hand. Thanks for your contest hosting !@!

I wouldnt mind eating at your house, every night, mmmm mmmm 😋

if you ever visit Southern California, by all means, I will feed you to the bursting point hehheeh

That comment is almost worth a plane ticket, tehe. You are too kind and your food is magnificent. Id like to peek at your recipe book :). <3

Hehe that would require peering into my skull and my search history

Haha me too. I love getting the basics of a recipe and adjusting or creating my own touch. Love your grub :)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Hey @creationofcare, welcome to #foodfightfriday. It's good to see you here.

BUT...

I'd jut like to say - "Come on, behave! Give the rest of us a chance aye!"

Thanks and cheers!!!

Thanks, now my bowl of Oatmeal is looking like wet dog food to me, thanks to your deliciously awesome dish.
65147D36-D696-41EE-B342-24A1B8D5BC89.gif

Haha, polenta is just corn grits. We are kindred cookers. All my best!

Very nice post. Looks delicious and gourmet. Beautiful plate presentation. :)

Thanks! And a big thanks to to youtubers who taught me their skillz. Since i am just a humble homesteader

that looks amazing - im totally stealing the polenta idea! we have a ridiculous amount of cherry tomatoes, too :D

Those cherry tomatoes transform into sauce balls when you cook them! Enjoy!

Okay, this looks great. Very appetizing meal, awesome combination of meat and vegetables and professional level presentation. I'm hungry again. :)

Wow thank you so much for your kind words!

That meal matched up with that plate makes such a perfect display. Bravo!! Well done!! That’s looks, and I bet tastes amazing!!

Thanks! It was delicious. My hubby loathes fresh cherry tomatoes, but he swooned over them blistered. My mother in law gave us the plates, I love them so much! I appreciate you noticing. Cheers!

Polenta is so satisfying. What a beautiful combo of flavors and textures you created!

You're so right about polenta. Matt has made it before for me, but this was the first time I did it myself. Cooking it for so long really gave it a silky texture. I owe the combo inspiration to the Good Eats link above, though! Thank you for your kind comment! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69123.03
ETH 3739.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69