Steemit Food Challenge #1: Dietitian-approved Breakfast

in #foodchallenge8 years ago

Competition + food? Well, count me in!

You know, I'd been reading about Steemit and scrolling through the site a bit over the past 2-3 weeks, but to be perfectly honest, I wasn't sure about actually contributing myself...that is, until I read @givemeyoursteem and @healthyfood's Food Challenge post. As I mentioned in my introductory post, I'm a registered dietitian with a deep love of games (read: competition) and food, among other things, so this was right up my alley.

What can I say? I guess it really whet my appetite (See what I did there? ...Yeah, I'm 85 years old at heart).

I admit, at first I started thinking up unique breakfast items that may catch the judges' attention. But then one morning things got real, or more accurately, I got hungry. So I used what I had on hand to create this tried-and-true breakfast: blueberry whole grain waffle, sunflower seed butter, sliced peach, and a sprinkle of seeds.

I don't have a catchy name for it -- Nut/seed-buttered Bread with Fruit and Seeds just doesn't roll off your tongue -- but it's a quick and easy breakfast that delivers on several key fronts:

  • versatility: this is completely customizable to work with your wants, needs, or simply what you already have in your kitchen - bread/waffle/English muffin that's whole grain/sprouted/gluten-free; nut or seed butter of your choice; any fresh fruit; and optional seeds - you can make it however you want (in fact, my go-to is usually 1 slice sprouted bread with peanut butter, sliced strawberries and chia seeds)
  • taste and texture: creamy (or you could go crunchy!) and savory nut/seed butter melting into a toasted starch, in contrast to cool, sweet fruit that's topped with seeds to add an extra "bite"
  • ease of preparation: truly a <5 minute breakfast (probably <3 minutes, depending on your toaster), and
  • ability to keep me full for hours: 'nuff said.

Directions:

  1. Pop the starch of choice in the toaster.
  2. While it warms up, gather your nut/seed butter, seeds (if using), and wash and slice your fruit.
  3. Assemble.

Nutrition Facts:

I couldn't help myself, I had to provide this information. As I mentioned above, in addition to being customizable, tasty, and a breeze to throw together, this breakfast will keep you full all morning due to its high fiber and healthy fat content.

291 calories, 14 grams fat, 9 grams protein, 280 mg sodium, 6 grams fiber.

(Note: the estimated nutrition information was calculated by MyFitnessPal using the ingredients shown above - different starches, nut/seed butters, fruits, and seeds will produce varying results).

*I specifically made an effort in this challenge to submit a real breakfast versus a perfect one, but to tweak this I'd probably use a lower sodium starch option.

That's it! Hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

Looks tasty! Great submission, best of luck!

Thank you! Will you be submitting?

*One edit that I couldn't add to the original post: The nutrition facts were calculated assuming 1 waffle, 1 Tbsp sunflower seed butter, 1 whole peach, and 1 tsp seeds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42