Sunday Multivitamins | You Cook, I Eat, As Always

in #food6 years ago (edited)


Photo by Maarten van den Heuvel on Unsplash

Creating Friendships


It's that time of the weekend again where I share about some life stuff that's been happening or something that's just pure joy and inspiring to share. That's why it's called Sunday Multivitamins cause it's supposed to be good for the soul. Like chicken soup for the soul.

Just yesterday, my partners and I who are running a new business together met up with a very prominent figure in the charity business to have a chat on collaboration efforts. These same partners, who are my good buddies, are also going to start an NGO (non-government organization) to help teach the lower income group to survive and start their own businesses. We are all VERY NEW to this sort of grounds because my partners and I all come from marketing, advertising and media background. I am glad that God has sent people our way to help us just like our meetup yesterday which went really well and productive.

'Teach a man to fish, and he will feed himself for life'

Is our motto and vision for our soon to be NGO. We are all about teaching the lower income group and providing them with resources to start their businesses. My partners and I know that this isn't easy to do because these people definitely have a very different mindset and mentality to most of us, corporate people and dare I say, our Chinese mindset where we're all about pushing ourselves in making something out of whatever we can get a hold of. The lower income group contains mainly of the aboriginals of Malaysia and these are the group of people that are still very uneducated. This would definitely pose as a challenge for us but I know that we will definitely make a difference once we get everything up and running. I'm grateful to be able to connect with amazing people for collaborations like these.

Helping out in the Kitchen



It is very RARE for me to be in the kitchen. Firstly, I don't cook because of the time I always get home from work and secondly, I like eating and usually there are too many chefs in the kitchen so I don't want to crowd the place. To be honest, I actually enjoy cooking. I enjoy experimenting with flavours. If we were to go out to a cafe right now, I would usually pick the weird dishes and drinks that have weird names. I am pretty adventurous at that.

Today was a little different, I wanted to help a little and in anyway I can. Though my friend and the aunty are both excellent chef, I wanted to at least help prep some of the dishes. After church, we head for grocery shopping and got a bunch of ingredients. We got some for the salad that we were going to make, seafood chowder and beer battered fish fillet. Of course, all these ideas came from my friend, who works in the F&B industry as a chef and is a pretty good one too.



We got to marinating the fish first with a ready-made Japanese sauce called Kewpie. I was just indulged in staring at my friend slicing the fish up. It is kind of therapeutic, just like watching fishes swim in the aquarium. We had fresh potatoes in the fridge and we've decided to make some potato chips with light seasoning just for the itchy mouths waiting for dinner to be ready. I started to slice these potatoes using a peeler and leaving them in the bowl of water so they don't turn dark quick. The frying took awhile because these potatoes are pretty moist but the outcome was great. Potato chips seasoned with sea salt and lemon and pepper herb.




The aunt cook one of the best Chinese dishes I know. Even better than the 5-star Chinese restaurants that I've been to. She made her infamous fish maw and portobello mushroom. Fish maw, is deemed to be one of the 'treasures' in Chinese cooking. That and abalone who is known as the 'gem of the sea'.


Portobello mushrooms


Adding Fish maw


The abalone gems


This dinner was themed the 'Seafood Dinner'. As you can tell, the chefs have planned to make everything seafood. Next up was the Seafood chowder. One of the best I've tried. The portion of oysters, scallops, grilled salmon, mushrooms were so generous that every bite have you chewing on the softness of the oysters. The soup itself was amazing with all these tantalizing flavours mixed into it. It gets better overtime.

With the oysters, the chef made some pasta with it and for the fish that we sliced earlier. We used it to fry in a beer batter which would be topped with cheese sauce later. I personally loved just drenching it with the seafood chowder. We also made a salad with mint sauce, cranberries, mix nuts, cherry tomatoes, asparagus and baked mushrooms.




Salad


Seafood Chowder


Seafood Pasta


Beer Battered Fish


All ready for the feast


Happy 3rd Birthday Steem!!




We also celebrated my friend's birthday after dinner and had the chocolate cake as dessert. Not forgetting that Steem today is 3 years old!!! It's amazing how far we've come and so much different from when I first came in.

More communities, more dapps, more initiatives are now on the Steem blockchain. We are definitely still in the infancy stage and I so believe that Steem is still the potential social media of blockchains. I have always believed Steem would change lives and connect people in ways you've never even thought possible. I've seen so many opportunities budding from various communities and I've met so many amazing Steemians on this blockchain too. Part of my life is now Steem and I am here for the long term.

Here is to wishing you all an awesome week ahead!

 

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2019/03/25/sunday-multivitamins-you-cook-i-eat-as-always/

Sort:  

Can i come for dinner? lol WOW! This looks unbelievable @zord189! Home made potato chips are my weakness.... I am so impressed. More importantly I am so proud of you guys working to help teach others how to fish! I feel it is so important to give back when we are blessed. So many get so wrapped up in making more and more money, they forget about helping those around them. I look forward to hearing more about this venture! Have a wonderful Monday. Blessings to you

Great meal.

Posted using Partiko Android

Firstly I respected your and your friends hard works for low income people.. It is more important to teach people how to fish rather than giving them fish. And your all meals look soo tasty.. I wish to try them too..

Can it be chickPEA soup for my soul? 😉 Definitely nourishing to be inspired by others doing good work! That sounds like a truly fantastic endeavor you are embarking upon to help people who desperately need it. Can't wait to hear more about how that project unfolds!

Very good . Young people who can cook is a gem for many urban youngsters these days.

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow amazing post with great food photos and now I am hungry ! Gosh, what a feast for the eyes (and tummies) :D :D :D

Kudos on you for helping out with those who are less fortunate, a lot of indigenous people in Australia also have a lot of hurdles for looking after themselves and it is such an enriching experience to be able to give back to these people.

You are awesome, zordy~

Cooking, new enterprise, social investment and community... you have really got it ALL going on!! A lovely, hopeful post - submitted by me for the c-cubed readers choice. 💚 Best wishes from northern Thailand.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh thank you so much for the curation! :) It is indeed an exciting time for me :)

Totally my pleasure. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy birthday to your friend and to Steem~!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81