Three-Ingredient Banana Date Shake in Under 5 Minutes… A Sweet, Simple, Delicious, Practical, and Healthy Treat

in #food7 years ago (edited)

The Banana Date Shake—my own concoction—is a wonderful life-saver when time, money, or food options are limited. It's not the most creative smoothie, but its other great qualities (including simplicity) make up for that!

The method to the madness is easy. After securing the necessary three ingredients,

  • 4 Madjool dates (pitted),
  • 2 bananas, and
  • 2 cups milk (450 ml, 2% fat),

blend them together until mixture is relatively smooth.

Serves two. 365 calories per serving. The recipe is rather flexible. For instance, if I’m feeling like I don’t need the calories or sweetness (or if the banana is large or the milk whole) I will just as often use only 1 date per serving instead of 2.

There are many advantages to this beverage, which I’ve been making about 1-3 times per week for the past 2 years. Sometimes I enjoy it for breakfast or if I’m headed to the gym on an empty stomach: I can whip this up without delaying my routine, pour it into a travel mug and rush out the door! It’s important to catch your hunger before it starts to shade your vision (“I’m so hungry I’m just going to order fast food”), especially on the way to the gym. I can’t tell you how many times I went to the gym on an empty stomach, finishing my work out so hungry that I proceeded to make bad food decisions afterwards. But I digress. I'm a person who always has to watch what she eats so when I find a good staple that I can rely on I consider that an asset... and one I'm compelled, thus, to share:)

Here is a list of more general benefits (i.e. “reasons you should try this!”):

  • Making it is quick and easy. The entire process, including clean-up can be completed in less than 5 minutes. You can also save the second serving for later… This way you have a second healthy snack locked and loaded the next time hunger strikes.

  • It’s filling, satisfying, and a great way to incorporate fruits into your diet.

  • It requires no added sugar and is made from identifiable, measurable whole food products.

  • It’s a great way to get rid of browning, overripe bananas! In fact, if you find that your bananas are ripening before you need a shake you can freeze your “close-to-death” bananas and throw them into your shake whenever you’re ready to use them for a frozen smoothie effect. In fact, one of the bananas I used for this particular batch was procured in this very manner. The trick for freezing your bananas: Peel them first and store them in a ziplock bag. They should be good for shakes for up to 3 weeks.

  • The ingredients are affordable staples usually on hand in a stocked kitchen. Everyone has milk in the fridge. Bananas are usually the cheapest fruit in the store and while good dates can be expensive, if you buy them in bulk they are more affordable and you will have many on hand for future shakes. I also recommend “Baking Dates” which reduce the cost of dates drastically. A 12 ounce container of madjool dates was $7 at my grocery store, whereas the 13 ounce block of “Baking Dates” I purchased from a nearby International Market was less than $2. Baking Dates are merely mashed pitted dates. Since you’d be blending the dates anyway, it is smart to buy them in block form because the date’s structural integrity is of no concern for this recipe.

  • The 3-ingredient model (two fruits, one liquid) allows for easy substitutes. A common one I make is substituting the dates or bananas for half an avocado. Thus, if you’re an avocado fan, I encourage you to try a “banana avocado shake” or “avocado date shake.” I'm also curious to hear if anyone else has any 3-ingredient combos that are staples in their kitchen. I'm a great fan of convenience and simplicity.

Bon appétit!

Sort:  

Wow, I want to eat too.
It seems so delicious.
Thanks for the good recipe.

That looks delicious and very simple. I'll have to try it. Thanks!

I hope you enjoy it!

Now my mouth is watering - thank you for sharing this great idea! I have never heard of baking dates but will be looking for them!!

Yeah, and you can use it like a spread on biscuits and graham crackers and stuff. It's a nifty ingredient. Like a healthier Nutella option.

Date shakes are the bomb. There is a place nearby that sells them. I stop everytime I passby. Putting bananas in them sound even better.

It's a match made in heaven. They compliment each other and it's a great way to incorporate bananas into routine.

Next time I'm there, I'll ask them if they'll add some bananas.

They'd be cruel to deny you it!

Nah, they know who I am and they're all pretty nice.

I've been drinking these for a few years and they are the perfect mix for cycling. Bananas have a good amount of potassium and along with the dates, provide extremely easy to utilize carbs for quick energy. You can have one of these for breakfast and be good for the next 100km on the bike.

And it doesn't weight you down before activities. It feels like the perfect amount of fiber-bound sugars, but I like your qualitative claim! 100 km is no joke!

I love dates and bananas and here you combine them both

Man they must be really good

The pairing gives peanut butter and jelly a run for its money, I think:)

Congratulations @youngoldengurrl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

wow...that's quick but still healthy....gonna try this...thanks for sharing.

Glad it was helpful, I hope you like the shake!

would you like to join at the food blog contest? Get ready for the big event. To know more about the contest follow me and it will appear to your feed on friday. 40SBD is waiting for the first prize.
thanks,

@kennyroy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44