Sugar-Free Raw Vegan Fruit & Nut Tart - An Original Recipe (Probably my Healthiest EVER!)

in #food7 years ago (edited)


As I had never before created anything suitable for the raw vegan diet I decided to try making something, and am very pleased with the results!  I'm not entirely sure what to call it, since it's not a cheesecake or flan and not really a tart (I'm pretty sure 'tarts' have a pastry case), but after a really hard think I was stumped so settled on the inaccurate 'tart'!  Oh well!  

I love the lightness of it - the way I don't feel full like I would after eating cheesecake.  I love the nutty, slightly chewy base with a subtle sweetness that lingers as an extremely pleasant after-taste.  I love the soft, fruity topping that has a smooth and somewhat 'gooey' consistency.  And I love how the chopped hazelnuts pressed into the base gives the sensation of chocolate chips.  It works so well as a light summer dessert, and I will be making this again for sure.  Not only is it a delicious treat but very healthy, considering it's made simply of nuts, seeds, dates, coconut oil and fruit.  That's it!  As always I would recommend you use organic ingredients so as not to risk an unwanted side cocktail of chemical residues :-)


Ingredients:


100g dates

150g ground almonds

25g hemp seeds

25g coconut oil

25g chopped hazelnuts

1 mango

1 avocado

1 ripe banana

30g chia seeds

Fresh blueberries to decorate


Method:


If you have a food processor you can just blitz the dates, but mine has broken so I chopped my dates finely using a knife.



Grind the hemp seeds (I used the coffee grinder attachment on my blender).



Put the dates, hemp seeds, ground almonds and coconut oil (melted on very low heat) into a bowl and mix thoroughly.  I used my hands to scrunch the mixture really well.



Press into a lined cake/flan tin.



Sprinkle the chopped hazelnuts on top of the base mixture, and press down into the base using the back of a spoon.  Pop into the fridge to harden.



Put the mango, avocado and banana into a bowl and puree using a stick blender.



Finely grind the chia seeds and stir into the fruit mixture.



Spread the fruit topping over the base and decorate with blueberries.  Pop back into the fridge for a few hours to set properly before removing from the lined tin and slicing up to eat.



For more healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, please follow me!  
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original.


Sort:  

That looks scrumptious! I've seen chocolate mousses made with avocado before, but never thought of mango and banana. And not only is it raw vegan, but it would also work for people on Paleo, gluten free, starch free or dairy free diets. There is such a lot of crossover between diets that at first glance seem very different, when you think of the first principle being "Just Eat Real Food".

Yes! You are so right. There's a lot to be said for real food - and half the time people wouldn't need 'free from' products if they were using real food rather than packets of stuff.

I love the combination of avocado, banana and mango. They are also my choice combo mixed with natural yoghurt for making frozen yoghurts... so creamy just like ice cream!

You killed it again, Joanna!!! This is mouthwatering . . .
Slrp!

@woman-onthe-wing sugar free, raw and vegan? you got me on that ..
you got some left overs? am flying out there...kidding..
time to hit the bed .. but back in the morrow..
you okay Joanna? I hope you are.. am back ..left you a chat message..sleep tight!

One day Ivy I will make one for you in real life!!!

No, thank YOU!

Looks delicious!

yiammy ! noted on my list i need to taste it ! :) thanks for sharing with us!!

I wish I could have a bite now...

I would happily send you a slice @jyezie, if at all possible!

Looks delicious! ♥

I enjoyed it waaaaaaay more than I expected to, and am definitely making this one again! Thanks @realmeandi ;-)

I love 'sugar free' some foods. :) Enjoyed. @woman-onthe-wing

Thanks very much @bostonstory! I haven't used refined sugar for more than a year now and I feel much better for it!!!

Mouthwatering! Can't wait till dinner and then dessert!!!

Thank you! I've never thought to make a base from nuts and seeds and dates before, but actually I think I prefer it to a traditional biscuit base like cheesecakes have. It's quite exciting something this healthy can be so gooooooood!!!

They sure are! For me, raw vegan-style desserts were love at first bite!

Yes, love at first bite! That's exactly how it was for me!!!

@woman-onthe-wing, Another wonderful masterwork! healthy dessert, looks very nice!

Thank you very much @helene for your kind words! It was a lovely dessert and didn't make me feel too full after eating :-)

Oh boy - that looks beyond delicious! Well explained too, with the step-by-step photos. I may try making it this weekend.

I hope that you enjoy it! Thanks very much @septimusmaximus!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62759.93
ETH 3112.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87