STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #14 : Sticky 'n' Sweet Lemon and Ginger Cups (No Sugar) - Original Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)


I didn't think I'd be able to enter this week as I thought I had only 1 lemon, but as it turned out there were 2 more behind the fruit bowl (along with some onions... thanks to my toddler son who thinks everything is a toy!)  I struggled to think of what to make though, as I don't use sugar (e.g for making meringue or icing), never buy cream, don't use anything ready-made such as lemon curd (and this takes too long to make from scratch).  I'm not usually that fond of lemon-flavoured things, neither is my husband, and I'd never make anything that would be wasted, so I was stumped!


Then I got to thinking about my daily cup of lemon & honey, which I make every morning using a few slices of lemon, a teaspoon of honey, about 1/8 teaspoon of ginger and the same of cayenne pepper (bit of a kick to wake my body up!)  When I get to the bottom, there's always a small amount of very thick, syrupy mixture, that is just gorgeous.  Lemony, sweet, gingery... mmmm.  So I thought, how can I get that taste in my Divine Lemoned Dessert entry?


This is what I came up with, and was delighted to find I did capture that exact taste in this sticky lemon filling, and so will definitely be making these again.  I used a good lot of ginger in the almond pastry, which compliments the sweet lemony taste very nicely indeed.  As I planned the recipe before doing it I managed to stay within the time limit - just!  It was a challenge but that's what I like!


What you will need: (makes 6)


For the pastry:

175g ground almonds

50g butter

4 heaped tsp ground ginger

2 tblsp honey

1 large egg yolk


For the lemon filling:

1 large egg + the left-over egg white 

3 tblsp honey

Zest and juice of 2 lemons

25g butter

75g fine wholewheat flour

25g chopped hazelnuts

Sprinkle nutmeg



Method:


In a large bowl mix together the ground almonds and ground ginger.  Chop the butter into small piece and rub into the almond mixture using your fingertips (3 mins).



Add the honey and egg yolk, using your hand to mix into a firm-yet-sticky dough (1 min).  Set aside the egg white for use in the filling.



Divide the mixture into six balls and put them into a muffin tin lined with bun cases (for easy removal after baking, as almond pastry is slightly more crumbly than flour pastry).  Use your fingers to press the mixture into cup shapes (2 mins).  Pop into a preheated oven at 170 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes.



Whilst the pastry is baking you can make the filling.  Squeeze the juice from 2 lemons and finely grate the zest (2 mins)



Put the zest, juice, egg + egg white, butter and honey into a pan and heat on low for 5 minutes or so until the mixture begins to thicken and turn syrupy.  Stir in the flour and remove from heat.  You should have a thick, sticky mixture.  (Taste it now - it's sooooo sweet and lemony and yummy!)



Spoon the filling into the pastry cups and sprinkle with hazelnuts and nutmeg (2 mins).  Pop back into the oven for about 6 minutes.  The filling will still be soft, but that's how we want it :-)



Enjoy warm or cold!



As usual, much appreciation to @englishtchrivy for hosting this challenge and giving us all a good reason to get creative! 
 

Many thanks also to this week's judge @onceuponatime, and to the sponsors @smooth, @sirwinchester and @knozaki2015, and to everyone else involved in this challenge. 
 

For more healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, please follow me!  Thank you!


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper

Sort:  

very nice recipe.... up and resteemed**

Thank you @homeartpictures, you are much appreciated!

Oh, wonderful! I wasn't expecting anything this week so what a lovely surprise! Thank you :-)

I will try it. Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome! And thanks!

These look like another amazing recipe.
Just came on Steemit to check and saw you had a new post, was about to do the school lunches, these would be lovely for them, but don't have almonds on hand have peanuts don't think that work as well as almonds.
Thank you for another amazing recipe!

If you ground up the peanuts I reckon they'd work well instead of almonds? Hmmmm... now you're making me think of doing a peanut-butter version, I think I will have to play around with some ideas, thanks!!! And thanks for your lovely comments as always!

This looks like a gorgeous little recipe...kind of like a lemon ginger self-saucing pudding. Well done! They look absolutely delicious. ;)

Thank you @rebeccaryan! Yes, very puddingy... I reckon I could adjust the recipe here and there for sticky-toffee now you've put the word 'pudding' in my head! Are you entering this week? :-)

I think you could do a lot with this recipe...and I can't wait to see what you try. Sticky toffee sounds fantastic!

@woman-onthe-wing entry acknowledged!

I want to taste it, now! I wonder what the almond crust and filling taste like. I could almost imagine it till the part before you added nutmegs and hazelnuts . Anyhow, am glad you found more lemons :)

giving us all a good reason to get creative!

Thank you - and thanks a lot to the guest judges for the theme ideas !

Now I've made almond pastry a couple times I'm really enjoying it - it's delicious made with honey for a sweet version. Oh my goodness I didn't know how the filling would turn out but I have to say it's soooooo good!

Yes, I'm totally grateful to everyone who makes this weekly challenge what it is. It gets my brain going and is lots of fun!

Look very tasty. Yummy

I am salivating! I want!!

" I don't use sugar (e.g for making meringue or icing), never buy cream, don't use anything ready-made such as lemon curd (and this takes too long to make from scratch)."

Well, then, I'm so glad that you accepted the challenge despite your extra constraints and put your creativity to work!

Thanks @onceuponatime, I tried my best! It's a pity I can't send you one as the photos don't do them justice at all. Glad I took the challenge though, as I think with some tweaking I can make a non-lemony version of that sticky filling that would work nicely for some sugar-free caramel slices, but that's an experiment for another day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91