"Sensual Summer Mouthgasm Medley" - An Original Recipe

in #food7 years ago


Boy oh boy, if you're after a healthy mouthgasm I've got one right here!  The combination of flavours, textures, smells and colours in this bowl promises a truly extraordinary experience with every bite.  I like to mix things up, as you know, rather than sticking to conventional preparation methods and combinations.  The resulting dish looks a little messy, but invites you to dive right in there with its alluring charm and good looks.  If I could box that taste....mmmmmmmmm, I'd be a millionnaire!


This dish is made up of several different components, and when combined, ooooh man, it's heaven.  There's a slightly sweet, creamy and crunchy coleslaw made from savoy cabbage, red onion, carrot and my avocado-based alternative to mayonnaise; roasted mixed seeds scattered atop the coleslaw; cumin-roasted chickpeas (crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside); feta cheese and homegrown strawberries (amazing taste together); refreshing crunchy cucumber; and a sprinkle of black pepper and apple mint to finish.


For those of you wondering what the heck a 'mouthgasm' is, I can give you the description according to @gardenofeden, and you may like to check out their post too.  They were guest judges for the Steemit Culinary Challenge a while ago and gave us this exciting theme.


 “A mouthgasm is an epic sensation that delights all the senses and bursts on the tongue in unexpected ways...  Presentation is key to a proper mouthgasm - as we feast first with our eyes - but the smell, feel, taste, and even sound of a dish contribute to an unforgettable, multi-sensory experience.  Rather than follow a specific recipe, a mouthgasm has a loose formula that mixes tastes, textures, colors, and often surprising and/or super high vibe ingredients for a memorable, unique, sensual, once-in-a-lifetime explosion on the palette.”  ~ Garden of Eden 


I'm sure most of you will have experienced a 'mouthgasm' at some point in all your years of eating!  It's that moment when you realise the food in your mouth is the most delicious you've ever tasted and you never want it to be over!  You take your first bite and your eyes roll back and your knees give way slightly and you are consumed momentarily by the sheer pleasure of what you're eating.  Maybe it's creamy, maybe it's crunchy, maybe it's creamy and crunchy together in the most perfect way.  Maybe it's spicy, or sweet, or tangy.  Maybe something you've always eaten in a savoury way is suddenly trasformed into something else entirely by combining it with a hint of something sweet.  Or vice versa.  But one thing is for certain - the fun of getting creative and passionate in your kitchen (oi oi) will give you the most joyous and memorable culinary experiences of your life!  So let's all go have mind-blowing, tongue-tingling, stomach-seducing mouthgasms today!!!


For a sweet 'mouthgasm' recipe, check out my Mouthgasm Tart!  


Ingredients:


1 large red onion

2 large carrots

1/2 savoy cabbage

1 ripe avocado

2 tblsp natural yoghurt

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

Squeeze fresh lime

1 heaped tsp paprika

Drizzle honey

Sprinkle salt

1/2 can chickpeas (200g)

Drizzle olive oil

Sprinkle cumin

Approx 10 slices cucumber

100g feta cheese

Handful fresh strawberries

Handful fresh apple mint

Handful mixed seeds (I used sunflower, golden linseed, sesame)

Black pepper


Method:


Dice the red onion, grate the carrots, finely slice the savoy cabbage.



To make the dressing (mayonnaise alternative):  Mash the avocado in a bowl using a stick blender.  Add the yoghurt, vinegar, lime, honey, salt and paprika, and stir well.  



Put the cabbage, carrot and onion into a large bowl and add the dressing.  Mix well using a wooden spoon.



Drain and rinse the chickpeas and dry on a clean tea-towel.  Put them onto a baking tray with a very small drizzle of olive oil, and sprinkle with cumin.  Pop into the oven at 200 degrees Celsius for about 30 minutes until golden and crunchy on the outside (yet still soft inside, yum!)



Roast the seeds under a medium-hot grill for several minutes until golden.



Dice the feta cheese, chop the strawberries into small pieces, and finely chop the apple mint.



Arrange everything in a bowl any way you please, and sprinkle with apple mint and black pepper. 



For healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for  meals and snacks, and the Steemit Culinary Challenge, please follow me!     
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original, taken with my Fujifilm Finepix S8200. 


Sort:  

Oh YES!!!! This is a truly inspired creation, and a lovely presentation. The crunch and creaminess, sweet and savory, lightness with just a touch of richness from the feta and avocado--yes you are a master of the mouthgasm!!!

Thank you @gardenofeden! I'm delighted to hear such a wonderful compliment! I didn't realise I was creating a mouthgasm until I tasted it, but the instant I did I thought of you guys in Texas, and felt connected to your community. Amazing what powers defy distance and bring us together :-)

Nice. This is an indian version recipe right?

I'm not sure what you mean @stefen?

I think your recipe is very close to what regional cooking in India would be, in the correct region. Can't tell you for sure but my guess would be southern India.

Oh, really? I wouldn't have thought anything about it was remotely Indian! I will have to look into it :-)

Drive up the cumin from more than a sprinkle, throw some coriander in there and swap out feta for yogurt and you are there, I'd say.
Vegetarian dishes are common in the south, along with dishes that use shredded vegetables and seeds. I think this is because it's so hot in southern India.
Good theme for a challenge and I think we should find someone from India to judge it because I am talking out of my ass here. I've never even been to India. Hahaha ! ;)

Ha ha ha! But I'm sure you're right though!!!

It would be a very cool theme for a SCC.

We did actually have 'Mouthgasms' as a theme for #24, but didn't get too many entries. I thought it was the most fun theme ever and was quite surprised others apparently didn't agree... Oh well!!!

We could say that it is Indian Fusion cooking @stefen! This is an original recipe that @woman-onthe-wing has created but I think with the correct spices it would have all the makings of a traditional Indian recipe.

Yummy, just my kind of food-pleasuregasm 😝

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

What is the Steemit Social Media Queue @hilarski? This clip is only 6 seconds long ;-)

Just by watching your amazing photos I am already feeling the mouthgasm sensation! Imagine what will happen if I tasted it!
Your crispy yet soft chickpeas with cumin must surely be super delicious @woman-onthe-wing!
Mouthwatering as usual!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thank you once again for your kind comments @progressivechef, and for appreciating my food! It makes me happy! :-)

Woah now. This is what dreams are made of. Seriously all good things all in one dish. What will she think of next?!?! Resteemed for sure!

Aw thank you so much @jaymorebeet, I really appreciate your lovely words and the re-steem! :-)

Yummy! I will definitely try your avocado mayonnaise. I think it will be great for belgian fries' dipping sauce :-D

I am blown away by the colors and textures of this recipe. I'm definitely having an eye-gasm looking at these beautiful food pics!

I also really love how it includes strawberry... so unexpected. I bet it really adds a touch of sweetness and fruitiness. And what a lovely preparation... It must be no mistake it's shaped like a mandala

"Eye-gasm"... I like it ;-)

I actually didn't realise its mandala shape, but now you point it out I see you're right! And I often make such patterns with my food... I wonder if it means anything?!

Thanks for your lovely comments @nataliejohnson :-)

Food fit for the gods, maybe? Just a bit of humor ;) ;)
I also really love the angles you shot for the ingredients... super imaginative

Thanks very much :-)

Those chickpeas!!! I gotta try baking them too! Looks absolutely mouthgasming indeed, @woman-onthe-wing!

Thank you! It's my new favourite meal!

Looks like a festival. :) @woman-onthe-wing

That's a very interesting observation, thank you @bostonstory!

You're welcome!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76