A @gardenofeden Inspired "Mouthgasm" Tart!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I couldn't resist making something myself, despite not being able to enter it for this week's "Mouthgasm" theme for the Steemit Culinary Challenge!  I decided my mouthgasm would be a tart... with a kick and a bite... layers of soft scone and crunchy toasted buckwheat, roasted nuts and ripe banana, of smooth caramel, a layer of bumpy truffle-like chocolate-coated millet and lentils, topped with a scattering of hard yet satisfyingly crunchy hemp seeds, and crisp, sweet ramiro pepper... Oh my goodness, it was the most interesting and surprisingly delicious tart I've ever made!  And difficult not to eat it all in one go!



First I take one of my savoury homemade spelt scones...



Crumble it into a bowl mixed with toasted buckwheat muesli...



Add a little melted butter & coconut oil...



Put mixture into a lined tart dish and press down firmly.  



Scatter chopped hazelnuts and press down into the mixture with the back of a spoon.  Pop into the fridge.



To make honey-caramel: melt butter and whisk egg yolk into the butter... add honey... gradually add milk (any kind) and simmer until the caramel thickens...



Spread caramel onto the tart base and return to the fridge.



Mix red lentils and millet grain together in a pan... cover with water... bring to the boil and simmer until cooked (and retaining some firmness... you don't want it mushy)...



Drain the cooked lentils and millet...



Melt some homemade or high-quality organic dark chocolate (with cocoa percentage 85%+) in a bowl over boiling water, and add a little honey to sweeten...



Add the millet and lentils to the chocolate and mix well, along with a sprinkle of cayenne pepper and a pinch of nutmeg...



I forgot to take a photo, but I did a layer of banana on top of the caramel, so spread the chocolate mixture over the banana layer, and sprinkle hemp seeds over the top...



Finally slice some sweet ramiro pepper and arrange on top.  



Soooooooooooooooo scrumptious!!!



For more healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, please follow me!  
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original.




Sort:  

Mmmm, imagine that sweet pepper was a microscopically thinly sliced scotch bonnet!! Nice tart, especially that caramel!

Ooh yes, I'm now convinced any kind of peppers, sweet or hot, would work very well with chocolate and caramel! Thanks very much @meesterboom

@woman-onthe-wing I'd eat it and probably eat more than just a slice despite the caramel haha
I love the way you topped it with those pepper slices! Very artistic!

Thanks so much @englishtchrivy! I am trying to slim myself down some more over the next few months, and it's really hard to be discipled when there's caramel around! :-)

Very interesting recipe! Would never think of using sweet pepper this way. I am going to try to make something like this :)

:-) I know, a surprisingly lovely combination of taste and texture! Thank you @tibra :-)

OMG!!! I just love the way such contrasting flavors combine to make an incredible zing on the tongue!!! I love how you combined the savory with the sweet to make such an delicious sounding treat! Great textures, colors, combinations of oozy and firm, sweet, salty, spicy and fresh!!! Way to go @woman-onthe-wing! I want to eat with you!

Oh thanks @everlove! What a lovely compliment! It was soooooo delicious, I would happily share and eat with you!

May we be blessed for it to be so!

@woman-onthe-wing It looks very appetizing))

Thank you @lil4a, I enjoyed it very much!!!

Great recipe...thank you @woman-onthe-wing,upvote and resteemed

Thanks very much @germanlifestyle! Appreciated :-)

You are so imaginative! How do you think of these things? {rhetorical Q}

:-) Thank you!!!

YES!!! This is super creative, and sounds über flavorful. Love the combos of textures and surprising addition of peppers to a sweet dessert! Great creation, @woman-onthe-wing - you obviously have the mouthgasm spirit!!

Thanks very much! I think you've inspired me to think about ingredients differently, and I will be trying out some more mouthgasms in due course!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54