Rich & Creamy Veggie Casserole - Sunday Comfort Food to Warm Your BellysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago


I like to enjoy some healthy comfort food on Sundays, so vegetable casseroles are a favourite.  I love making them because 1. they're so easy, and 2. they're so versatile.  I always use different vegetables and add different legumes, different cheeses, different seasonings.  Yum.


I'm pondering going 100% plant based, but for now I still eat some dairy, and so the sauce on this casserole is rich and creamy - similar to a carbonara sauce.  I always buy whole, organic, free-range, and wherever possible buy local produce where it's easier to find out the ethics of the farmers and whether the animals have a good life.  But not only that, just as with the plant products I eat, I like to know these dairy products are good quality and free from harmful chemicals and processes.


Ingredients (organic recommended):


4 potatoes

4 carrots

1 leek

1 red onion

1 bulb garlic

200ml fresh whole cream

1 free range egg

100g good quality cheese

1 tblsp sweet paprika

1 tblsp parsley

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp unrefined salt


Directions:


Peel and slice the potatoes and carrots.  I slice carrots diagonally to make larger slices, rather than slicing straight down to make circles.



Slice the leek and rinse well to remove any trapped dirt from between the layers.



Dice the onion and garlic.



In a jug mix together the cream, egg, grated cheese, parsely, paprika, salt and pepper (similar to a carbonara sauce).



Lightly oil a casserole/oven-proof dish (to prevent sticking) and arrange the layers as you wish: I did two layers, so firstly lay down half the potatoes, then half the carrots, half the onions, half the leek, and sprinkle half the garlic.  Drizzle half the sauce over the first layer.  Repeat with the next layer.



I found there was just enough potato slices to do a final layer on top, drizzle the remaining sauce and grate extra cheese, along with a generous sprinkle of parsley and paprika.  Place the lid onto the dish and bake in a pre-heated oven at 200 degrees Celsius for about 45 minutes until the veg has softened and the casserole has become golden on top.



For all kinds of health information, tips, recipes (vegan/vegetarian), crafts, photography, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here

("5 Cs" shared with kind permission from @kiwideb)

Sort:  

Everything seems delicious tell me you're inviting me over?

Haha yep come on round, there's plenty for everyone! :-)

Hey There @woman-onthe-wing!
I'm so happy that I caught this post of yours this morning!
Every single photo is magazine quality! The finished dish looks gorgeous and all the ingredients can readily be found making it an easy option for anyone to try their hand at.
Well done!

Thank you Rebecca! I try to keep posting dishes that appeal to anyone and don't require fancy ingredients or equipment :-) I know a lot of people don't do cream and cheese and all these fatty things, but I figure as long as you don't eat these things daily they're not likely to make you pile on the pounds! And every now and then my belly speaks to me saying 'please fill me up with something rich and warming!' :-)

Dear mam @woman-onthe-wing.. i think its a delicious food. i like foods as like you. good food healthy our good health.. i like your blog. keep going. look forward to read your next blog.

Thanks very much @sanjoy22, I'm happy that you like my posts! :-)

welcome mam @woman-onthe-wing. Happy steeming. it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Yummyyyy, I want some right away! :)

If it were possible to send you some I would @erikah! Thank you :-)

Awww, how nice of you! :)

Those potatoes look so good, I should make some!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60893.95
ETH 2351.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54