Sort:  

Each of them is good in one way or another. The narrowleaf plantain is interesting because it tastes like mushrooms. But it's a little "one note" to warrant eating it all alone. I use a lot of wild field mustard, on sandwiches and in cooked meals -- it's definitely in my top 5 favorite wild greens. But I use raw dandelion leaves so much -- in smoothies, as lettuce on sandwiches, and just a simple side-salad of nothing but the greens. I look for the tender leaves that haven't been stressed by too much direct sun or moisture stress. For big leaves, I strip out the center rib, where most of the bitterness is.

I see, sounds good. At least dandelions I know :-) If you don't mind me asking did you learn all about wild foraging as a child or adult? I want to bring my son up to know all about it, but I know very little myself. Would there be a particular book or other tool you'd recommend for me at all?

I grew up eating wild plants. My dad had me picking lambs quarter and poke and dock when I was only seven or eight years old. And that's 50 years ago, so I've eaten a lot of weeds, lol. But I learned a lot of other wild plants as an adult. There's more than a lifetime's worth of things to learn and I'm always trying new things, too. I have a YouTube channel "Haphazard Homestead", with quite a few wild foraging videos. I haven't been so active with my videos lately, but will be getting back to it soon. I'll try to do more posts about foraging (and I curate for the @foraging-trail -- it's all foraging posts from people here on Steemit). As far as books, it helps to know generally where you live. I have found that regionally focused books are best, rather than a general book that tries to cover everywhere.

Okay, thanks very much. I'll find you on Youtube and follow @forgaing-trail, and hopefully will learn a few things! I'll see if I can find a local book, I think actually the wholefoods shop in the next village sells a few books so perhaps they have something :-)

I remember that you are in Ireland. A regional book would be best for you. And one where it is clear that the people actually have harvested and used the plants in their book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55