Caramelised Carrot & Red Onion Salad, with Bulgur and Cilantro Flowers - An Original Recipe (Vegetarian)

in #food7 years ago


On warm summer days a flavoursome salad for dinner is preferable to a hot and heavy meal.  I love the lightness of all the fresh vegetables and herbs, yet plenty filling with the carrots and the addition of a grain - in this case bulgur wheat.  I know many people avoid grains these days for weight and digestive issues, amongst other things.  But personally I find no ill-effects on my digestive system if the grain is organic and therefore pesticide free.  Surprising how much difference this makes, but then a little bit of poison is still poison so perhaps it's not so surprising after all!

I've been so busy lately that I've had to neglect my outdoor duties a little and my cilantro plant has flowered, which means I will have to let it go to seed now.  Once cilantro has flowered there is no way to bring it back to being all leafy like before.  The thing to do is wait for the round corinader seeds to form and then grind them up to use in cooking, or plant the seeds to grow more cilantro.  I will be doing both!  But since the flowers are so pretty and have the same cilantro flavour as the leaves, I decided they'd be a lovely thing to scatter over my salad.  I love the flavours of carrot and cilantro together... if you've ever had these flavours in homemade soup you'll know it's gorgeous!  So why not a salad.  And I have to say it was absolutely delicious!



Ingredients:


30g bulgur wheat

2 carrots

1 red onion

1/2 red pepper

3 cloves garlic

Baby spinach

Cilantro flowers

Drizzle of honey

Squeeze of fresh lemon

Black pepper


Method:


Put the bulgur into a saucepan and cover with cold water.  Bring to the boil then simmer on moderate heat for about 15 minutes until tender.  Drain and set aside (or allow to cool and pop into the fridge, depending how soon you're going to eat it).



Slice the red onion and carrot into bite-sized chunks (not too thin) and lay in a roasting tray.  Drizzle with honey then roast in a preheated oven at 200 degrees Celsius for 15 minutes.



Finely dice the red pepper and garlic.



In a bowl mix together the bulgur, carrots, red onion, red pepper, garlic and a good squeeze of fresh lemon.



Wash the spinach well and pat dry with a clean tea-towel.  Roughly slice up for ease of eating.



Here are my cilantro flowers... I chopped them up smaller so they can be easily scattered over the salad.



Arrange the salad - spinach to line the bowl, then the grain & veg mixture on top of that. and finally scatter the cilantro flowers over the top and sprinkle with black pepper.  Delicious!



For more healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, please follow me!  
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original.



Sort:  

Great Post. Everything looks super duper. resteemed.

That's very kind, thank you @autonomysystem! I'm happy you like it :-)

A perfect salad for a beautiful sunny day like today. I will hit the kitchen soon and get this fixed. A brilliant collection of the right ingredients for a perfect outcome!
Thanks for sharing

Thanks so much @globalfoodbook, I'm delighted to hear how you like the sound of my salad! Simple yet scrumptious!

You are welcome.

Will do the very same @globalfoodbook ;)

Looks amazing! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you @natashahall, I enjoyed it very much!

Looks incredibly delicious!

Thanks very much @yetaras... It was so good!

Wowh, these are incredible food images. Looks so delicious. A great way you set it up. Layout, description, choice of food .. well thought through.

Thanks very much @puffin, I appreciate that! I try to keep it easy to follow in case anyone wants to make my food for themselves :-)

This looks gorgeous, thanks again for that great food inspiraton ♥

Thanks so much @isshappy! It was so delicious, I'll definitely be making this one again for sure! :-)

Wow, I'm mouth watering! Great recipe @woman-onthe-wing like always

This one looks healthy as well as beautiful. @woman-onthe-wing

Thank you @bostonstory! I used to like sauces or dressings on my salads, but this year I have been growing fresh herbs and find they have such beautiful flavours that I no longer need salad dressings!

You are so good cook. ;) @woman-onthe-wing

That means a lot, thank you @bostonstory :-)

Such a delicious and healthy recipe. I love the idea of cilantro flowers. I have not try them in any recipe yet, but I definitely will in the future.

Yes, they are so pretty and taste just like the leaves... A lovely way to impress guests too :-) Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69