HOW TO cook BORSCH. My recipe.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I love to cook BORSCH because it is always a creativity. This time I cooked by the simple basis recipe. But you can add, for exhample, beans, browned eggplant, green beans, bell pepper. You can use any spices to your taste. Also you can cook it on a meat broth, or make a vegetarian soup as I did.

               

For my recipe I took: 

potatoes

cabbage

carrot

onion

homemade canned tomato

garlic, hot peppers

homemade pickled beets

proportion as on the left photo

Wash and clean all the vegetables.

   

Slice all the vegetables. Put potatoes and cabbage in a pan with, boiling on a medium fire, water. 

Carrots, onions, tomatoes saute in sunflower or other vegetable oil

Add spices. I had the garlic, allspice, cloves, bay leaf, rosemary, caraway, chilli, salt, sugar. All this I added for my own taste, you can use yours. I add spices in ~ 5min before everything is ready.

When everything was ready, I turned off the fire under the pan and then added the marinated beets and beet marinade. Because of this, borsch has a beautiful burgundy color ().

In addition, in a beet marinate we have vinegar, which will give piquant acidity and sharpness. Add marinated beets convenient because it already cooked. The secret is that if you add beets in boiling water, borsch will change it's color from a beautiful burgundy to pale pink.

             

 I hope you like my recipe!

Bon appétit!

Sincerely yours @witchcraftblog 

Sort:  

Looks good! thanks for sharing!

hum bem saudável,gostei.

Beautiful post. I will add this to my arsenal of Borsch recipes for sure. Really a fantastic post.

thanks a lot @gringalicious I love your recipes and your posts, they are so beautiful. I'm your fan :)

Congratulations @witchcraftblog! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @witchcraftblog! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35