Lentil burguers: First time making a vegan recipe.

in #food6 years ago

food4.jpeg

Steemian, I return with a gastronomic venture. Enjoy a lot doing the previous recipe Myadra - Surprise everyoney whit Arabic style rice! The whole process to record the preparation was very fun and the end result rewarding.

While I don't have a vegan diet, take advantage of the moment and also that I had the ingredients (or at least the basics) to make a very popular recipe in vegetarian food: "Vegan lentil burgers". Since the popularity of this type of diet has increased, my curiosity has grown to the same level.

It was the normal day when reviewing the pantry noticed that I have the basics to test my skills as a cook to satiate a culinary curiosity. Look for a variety of tutorials on the internet and based on the ingredients plan this version of the recipe.

Join me in this vegan adventure full of flavor ...

Tips:

If you have doubts about what to cook, I will give you this trick that I apply sometimes when I don't have inspiration. Enter the google search and type the following "Recipes with: ..." and add the names of the ingredients you have at that time. The search result will surprise you ... we can all be a chef for a day.

List of ingredients

food.jpeg

400grs of lentils. -1 grated carrot - 1 grated onion

food2.jpeg

2 sweet chili - 3 garlic cloves - worcestershire sauce - Cumin - Garlic powder - Oregano - salt - Oil.

Step by step

foodlentils.jpeg

Cook the lentils with water without adding salt. Cook until soft and completely dry. This process can last at least 20min.

Meanwhile, prepare the other ingredients. grate 1 carrot and 1 onion. Peel and crush the three cloves of garlic. Chop the sweet chili into small pieces.

When the lentils are ready. Remove from the fire and proceed to drain the liquid that may remain. I put them in a colander in the particles. I left them there until they dried, apart from that it served to cool them, which was very convenient for the next step.

food5.jpeg

Place the lentils in a bowl and add the previously grated vegetables. Do it without fear, put everything. Incorporates condiments and worcestershire sauce . You will have to knead all the ingredients (I did it with my hands), make the enveloping movement to be compacted, in turn press the mixture so that your hands are able to dissolve the grains.

IMPORTANT:

Remember to wash your hands and vegetables before cooking.

food6.jpeg

- This part of the process is very fun -

food7.jpeg

Tips:

Flour or bread crumbs incorporate it if necessary. the quantity required must be measured as the mixture is prepared. That is, go incorporating until there is a malleable mass and low humidity.

Let the mixture stand for a few minutes. The next step is to make balls with the dough, to then give the shape of hamburger with your hand.

food8.jpeg

With the amount of ingredients I used, I was able to make 11 hamburgers.

Final steps

food9.jpeg

Preheat a pan, put a little oil. Fry the burgers until golden brown on both sides.

Bon appétit: Vegan lentil burgers.

food3.jpeg

You can make the traditional hamburger, but in this case I preferred to serve it with a little white rice and a cabbage salad with carrot. Accompany it with your favorite sauces, as you will notice I use mustard.

food4.jpeg

Steemian, I hope this post helps you motivate your inner chef that we all have. This recipe is very easy to do. Without forgetting the benefits it has for the organism. Believe me you will be delighted with the final result.

Text, Edition & photos by: @wisejg

Sort:  

@wisejg If you are a chef at the time of cooking, you will have many admirers for the great work you have done in the kitchen, I liked how you prepare the crispy burger tortillas and the fanal dish that do spectacular magic I would say for the followers , I feel happy for what you have shared and I want to make that recipe at home @neymarth10

I have never heard of Lentils burger before but it sure does look tasty. I am not really a lentils person so this might not work for me but its a simple and easy recipe.

You know what my mum does when she has no idea what to cook? She just checks in the pantry see what's in there and come up with a recipe from her head. Lol! Most times, it works and a few times, it ends up being a fail😀😂😂😀. The funny thing is she ends up forgetting the recipe she cooked up after cooking, well,most times.

Cooking really is an art, we just need to let our minds run wild sometimes and be creative. It's amazing how these Vegans are looking for creative ways to "healthify" some of these recipes...

This recipe looks appetizing, I really like how detailed you are when describing the cooking process and the photos that you put together make it an enjoyable read.
                           
Congratulations for your first curie vote. Stay active and keep making good posts and you might get another in the future ^_^.

I have no words to describe the emotion. It's barely my second recipe post. I don't have any skills as a photographer but I put effort into it. I'm glad you like the result. and not only looks good in photos, it tasted good and to be the first time trying it was not bad at all. the taste surprised me ... thanks for the support. I will continue giving the best.

Oh, those look so delicious. I am a big fan of meat, but I also enjoy flavorful non-meat dishes, so I am sure I would enjoy this.

Remember to wash your hands and vegetables before cooking.

This is very important, especially when you're kneading the food with your hands. Ha ha.

I'm also a meat lover... the curiosity to taste it was the motivation to do it. to get rid of the doubt of how good vegan food is. the truth? It covered my expectations.

I'm glad it was what you were expecting. One of my favorite vegetarian foods is pizza. since they don't have the flavor of the fats to make it taste better, most veggie pizzas put more effort into the taste. Some of the best slices of pizza I have eaten were veggie.

@wisejg, I always didn't know how to cook a vegan meal. For me, vegan meal always vegi, vegi and vegi. It kind of boring right, this is how i know what to cook (guilty as charge:P). Now i learnt a lot from people like you on how to prepare a delicious and healthy vegan food. Thank you to the steps by steps on how to prepare the whole meal.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wisejg from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I've been vegan for almost 2 years and lentil burgers are one of my favorites. They are so versatile and you can also use the 'dough' for various recipes. Next time try to add a little bit of celery. It will make it taste even better :)

I like your combination with rice and cabbage salad. Looks delicious!

Easy, nutritious and tasty meal!

You have inspired me to make lentils loaf for dinner tonight :)

Thank you for sharing!

Hi wisejg,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh what emotion. this was unexpected. Thank you very much for the support ... I still do not process it. What a good way to end the day.

Wow, that looks really delicious, the end result looks like real hamburger. Thank you for the precise recipe, I always wondered how you can create nice food with vegan recipe. As we have children and you never know if they eat meat so for the party that is a great option. I love lentil too but never thought you could use it as replacement for meat. Beautiful pictures :)

I think if you serve it to a child in with bread and sauces. He will think he's eating a hamburger of meat. because the truth is that it is a good substitute ... it is always good to vary the diets a little....
with respect to the photos. I'm an amateur I even take them with a cell phone

Even though look really delicious. I remember once my nephew was surprised when you ate a fish fingers and was surprised to taste fish taste, the one he had before did not have such taste so he thought even he knew that the food called fish fingers it was a discovery that it was a fish taste in a real one :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83