You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grandpa Gotta Cook—Homemade Grilled Individual Pizzas

in #food6 years ago

CONGRATS on yet another Curie, Glen!

The post was good reading even if I am the worst cook on the entire planet! Great photos, too; they look like professional studio shots and are one of your best sets, I think. The DSLR does a great job.

The Curie was well earned.

Sort:  

Thank you, as always, @willymac, for all the kind words. I'm going to say worst cook is relative for you. If I enjoyed it more, I think I would get better, but as it is, I really don't get enough satisfaction out of it. I think if I were doing it for just myself and my wife, I might like it more, but when there's other people involved, it's not quite as fun as it needs to be because there's way too many tastes to try to appeal to.

I was actually very pleased with the way these turned out. The backgrounds weren't anything extravagant (basically a plastic table for the most part), but the lighting outside was just right and this particular lens works really well in the late afternoon.

Well, I'm not sure about the curie. I've been reading other people's efforts, like yours, and I think, I'm just happy to be on their radar. :)

Too modest about your writing, my friend. It's good, and it's natural and unforced. People strive to achieve that level of professionalism and fail because it's like trying to use a Southern accent when you're not from the South: it is going to sound fake. (Rock Hudson should have been tarred and feathered for trying!)

I had wondered if you had used studio lights for the photos because of their very good shadow detail. The camera has a good internal light meter or light processor. They added a very nice touch to the text.

I'm afraid I have gotten lazy with my photos by using the iPhone instead of my Nikon DSLR. Lugging that around is like carrying a field pack and, other than for photos of my S.O., I seldom use it. I have made thousands of portraits of her over they decades and, in my opinion, the perspective through the 300 mm lens cannot be beat for getting close-ups without actually being there.

Nope, I don't cook because I lose interest in food when I see it being made. I'm not a real food fan anyway, even though it's an obvious necessity. I eat because I have to and don't pay much attention to whatever it is. That lack of interest does not provide a driving force to be good at cooking. Eating canned stuff is okay with me, but that offends my S.O. considerably since she is a dedicated cook and spends hours a day preparing meals for the two of us. I do appreciate gourmet food, but canned field peas on jasmine rice suits me just fine, too.

I think Curies happen when they happen. I have no clue what gets attention and what they like or don't like. I would be happy if I could get readers and comments on what I do post. I'm sure it depends on the time of day of the post, the title, the thumbnail image, and what happens in the millisecond the posting gets attention from a viewer. All else is mystery.

I hope your wife is back to normal after her surgery. I know how disruptive that is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94