‘PICKLE’ YOUR TASTE BUDS…

in #food7 years ago

Fermented-Foods (1).jpg
Kimchi-Salad (1).jpg

You probably have fond childhood memories of relishing your granny’s homemade achaar and chutneys. Remember the lengths you’d go to, to steal a palmful of murabba? Food, as they say, is the best nostalgia. A winning dish is one through which people relive their memories. Today, fermented products go high up on a chef’s list.

Fermented ingredients has played a major role in its entry into restaurant menus, describes these foods as the flavorful space between fresh and rotten.

Fermentation Festivals around the world

Every year, to celebrate the benefits of fermented foods, world-class fermenting artisans and enthusiasts come together to set up festivals. Boston Ferments in New England, Santa Barbara Fermentation festival in California, Fermentation Fest in Wisconsin, Ganggyeong Fermented Seafood festival in Korea, are among the dozen festivals that were held across the globe. From holding workshops on how to master fermentation to having a market that sells homemade samples of cultured food and drinks, these festivals give you a low-down on everything fermented.

The Indian picture

Fine dining establishments across India have opened their kitchens to traditional fermented recipes like kanji (a drink prepared from the juice of black carrots), curries made from kachampuli ( a fruit vinegar from Kerala), jau ki ghaat (a ragi drink from Rajasthan), iromba (a spicy Manipuri chutney made from fresh vegetables and fish). The distinct flavor that fermentation imparts to a dish is one of the major reasons why chefs are using this technique.

A good kick in your gut

Eating healthy fermented foods increases the good bacteria and helps digestion. It also improves the immunity and purifies blood, as the bacteria flushes out all the toxins. If you lead a stressful life and have a diet high in sugary and processed food, the beneficial microbiome in your gut becomes unbalanced- which cause unclear thinking and excessive worrying. This can be corrected by consuming foods like buttermilk, unpasteurized sauerkraut, kimchi etc.

Eat cultured foods, And above all, you can go back to your childhood memories by just ‘pickling’ your tongue. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!!

Sort:  

good food

Thank you..:-):-)

This article really piqued my interest in fermented foods. Gonna research more and try a few ;)

I am glad.. Much love..:-)

Childhood Memories are the best memories we ever collect.

Absolutely.. beautiful treasure..😀

Long time no see!
I added you on gina, received this notification after so many days, where were you been? is everything ok?
Amazing Food Mam!

I know it's been long.. I will be regular now for sure..😀 Yes, all good.. thank you so much. Hope all is awesome too at your end.. have a great weekend ahead. 😀😀

Same to you mam!
As I'm from your neighbor country, it's a pleasure to talk to such a nice lady :)

My pleasure too. Keep in touch..😊

Yeah sure :)

good post! I love homemade preserves! My mother sets them the best. very interesting post!

Pickles made my mothers are incomparable. They are best cooks..😀

Really such a nice food .....thanks for your post

Thank you so much. I am glad..😊

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

That's so true I remember my old days while I was in school and we used to go to village in our summer vacation. And my grandma used to make the mango pickles. I was really fond of them. Thanks for making me realise that it's small things that brings us joy.

Wow what beautiful memory you have and I am so glad my post could take you back to that time. Grandmom's pickles are unbeatable for sure..😊

Have a great week ahead. Keep in touch..

@weavingwords feels like family after having a look on your post
following you to get that feel of indiA
i miss my india
thanks for posting|
you made my day

R u living abroad??

Thank you so much. I am glad. U will be very much in tuned with India here..keep in touch..😀

Thank you so much. I am glad. U will be very much in tuned with India here..keep in touch..😀

Yup pickle is best. I like pickle with daal chaval.. I dont skip it any way from daily food..

Pickle with daal rice is a deadly combo.. I love it tooo..😀😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54