Lacto-Fermented Soda Using Whey Part 2 : How It Went

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3293.jpg

About a week ago I shared my love of a new book I picked up: "The Wildcrafting Brewer" by Pascal Baudar. I've read it from cover to cover and have started trying some recipes. You can read my original post here. I am giving away a copy of this book and the winner will be chosen tomorrow - there's still time to put your name in. You can learn more about that here.

Update

I promised to update on how it went with our first recipe for Lacto-Fermented Soda Using Whey. I am pleased to say that it was a successful experiment. We've actually consumed two bottles of this soda and have two more in the refrigerator ready to drink. Our only issue is that we are low on fruit ingredients to make more soda.

The soda is delightfully fizzy and the flavours are incredible. Its the nicest "pop" we've ever had. This recipe is one of the easiest things I have ever made. totally worth trying. Here's how you make it

I did forget about it for 24 hours and didn't release any of the gasses during this time. The pomegranate soda got really, really fizzy. It should have been in the fridge already which would have prevented that overflow.

IMG_3146.jpg

1. Pomegranate Soda

IMG_3297.jpg

2. Lemon Blackberry Soda

IMG_3300.jpg


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

Very cool!
Just thought you should know the link to 'how to make it' isnt working. At least, for me...

Thanks for pointing out that broken link. I think I fixed it! :)

No prob! Seems to be working fine now. :)

Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. Your post is helping people learn to survive and thrive now and in the future!

Thank you! :)

Yummmm!!! We're loving his book too!!! Excited to follow you and see what you create 😊

Glad you are enjoying the book - I am eager to move onto new recipes. It's still winter like weather so it will be a while before I can start foraging and gathering materials to use.

I checked the recipe and then bookmarked it. It makes sense that it would work. It's so simple I almost have to wonder why I didn't think of this?

What a simple yet cool recipe.

It's ridiculous how easy it is. I'm going to work my way through this book. I am loving it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.40
ETH 3085.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31