You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Make Raspberry Vinegar

in #food7 years ago

Thanks for these. I would love one day to get enough apples from my few new trees to warrant getting a little cider press. Then even the cider vinegar could be home sourced. Have you tried that?

I love raspberry anything! My favourite bush I have planted are thornless blackberries, I am still amazed at their thornless branches!

Sort:  

I would LOVE a cider press as well and like you our apple trees are still really young. We've been lucky though and still end up with 5+ bushels in the fall. Some come from a local orchard that sells their "rejects: the ones the stores don't want" for $8 a bushel and others come from the woods. There are some old orchards from homesteads long gone all around the woods so we go out foraging.

Apple cider vinegar is one of the things I love making. Totally worth the effort. Even without a cider press you can make a lot of things, apple juice, apple butter, sauce, cider, vinegar etc. It is just much more time consuming and labour intensive.

Everyone is talking about these thorn-less blackberries and I am so envious. Mine have thorns but I didn't know there was an alternative when we planted them. This recipe is great with blackberries too or a mixture of both :)

Combat picking at its finest. We pick over on the snake river. The blackberry patches are huge and very thorny. Long sleeves and long pants for sure.

Blackberry thorns are quite fierce aren't they? I get snared up in ours all the time. They like to just reach out and grab me. I've never had a finer bounty of fruit than that of the blackberry though. Such abundance. .. its worth a few battle scars :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30