I was looking for buckwheat in Bulgaria

in #food6 years ago

Man is so constituted that he always desperately wants something that is not.

Ten years ago I arrived in Bulgaria and the first thing I found was that there was no buckwheat. Although, not only buckwheat then was not in the Bulgarian stores. Now, with the arrival of German retailers in the country, you can buy everything in the world. Well, almost everything. And if there is not, then there will definitely be in the Birches.

In particular, I noticed the absence of black bread, sour cream, semolina, millet groats, black tea, chocolate candies and so on. The most interesting thing is that from all of this list, in Russia, I ate only chocolates. I was never interested in bread and buckwheat. But when not - then it is necessary!

And for three years in a row I carried buckwheat groats in kilograms from Russia. And in passing, she told everyone that there was no buckwheat in Bulgaria. All this lasted until one woman, living in Sofia for thirty years married to a Bulgarian, told me that such cereals as buckwheat, millet and yellow split peas are sold in special stores - dietary. Also, all this can be found in the dietary departments of large grocery chains. For example, in Bill. Imagine my surprise ?! :)

It turned out so!

And then buckwheat appeared in Kaufland and the T-market (the Baltic network of "Maxim") and immediately ceased to interest us :-). Now we eat buckwheat every six months. By the way, I think that in small towns where there are no large chains and Birches, you really cannot find buckwheat or black tea.

At the same time, every year I see on Facebook how new immigrants are looking for buckwheat in Bulgaria and cannot find it. At first, I wrote comments to everyone and told me where to buy buckwheat, but after five years I was tired :).

I realized that this is infinite: a person, getting into an unfamiliar environment, must first orient himself, get used to it, and then, probably, he will begin to notice buckwheat, peas and millet. In the meantime, for him everything is new, unusual, interesting - let him enjoy this novelty!

The case with another croup

I do not know what the Bulgarians think about buckwheat and how they eat it, if they eat at all, but I have a story about millet.

Once I bought millet in a diet store, a woman stood next to me and looked. Finally she could not stand it and asked why I take it and how I cook it. I wanted to be surprised, but then I remembered that I was not in Russia. I told her that I was cooking millet as a side dish for meat. We love to walk with "yellow porridge". Do you know what a shock it was? :) They even say to millet that this is a product for weight loss. Maybe it is, but I never thought about it.

Buckwheat is, indeed, tasty and healthy cereals, but my child is completely slandered and does not want to eat it :)

In Bulgarian, this pavement is called "zhylteti paveta".

Thank you for your time and attention.

Follow me for more content to come!

All photos in this blog are taken by me unless otherwise attributed.

With love from Bulgaria @varya-davydova

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 42.468810 lat 24.038086 long d3scr)

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=varya-davydova
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=i-was-looking-for-buckwheat-in-bulgaria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @varya-davydova! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58