Shrimp Tostaditas. How to! (aguachile and creamy double leek) <3 Soy tu tio

in #food7 years ago

This shrimp tostaditas were off the hook!

Hello, I hope you have an awesome day <3 tio luis here with some more food

This time I had again some left over mini tortillas from work and I decided to make a simple quick meal with what I had in hand. which was shrimp and couple veggies :)

038.JPG

So how do you make tostadas?

What is a tostada?

ok. Let's begin from the basics, a tostada is a toasted tortilla as a good Mexican.

017.JPG

So what we do is we fry the tortillas in oil until crispy.

Usually, we can tell they are done when they are hard and the bubbling slows down to a pretty quiet one. There won't be a lot of cooking after like 2 minutes.

022.JPG

after that make sure you sprinkle them with a little bit of salt. It does always help to add some flavor. Also, make sure you let them drain or place them on top of some paper towels so they absorb some of the extra oil.

Nobody likes oily tostadas

024.JPG

And there you go, now you have tostadas. Time to work on the toppings :D

Because a tostada is just like a taco but flat and crispy. So it is an empty canvas that we can play with and create something amazing :D

026.JPG

For this one, I decided to caramelize some leeks then add my shrimp and stir until completely cooked.

I added some cream, turmeric because I have had lots of inflammation lately and I know it will help. It might help more not to eat shrimp but oh well... ahhaha it helps!

027.JPG

I also fried some leeks which I dipped in the same cream then flour to top my tostadas off :D

And make them double leeky ahhaha since I love that flavor and I was amazed on how good they were

030.JPG

The creamy silky texture in this tostada was a pleasant surprise added to the crunch of the tostada and the crispy leeks.

035.JPG

For this Aguachile tostada I made an aguachile mix consisting of Lime Juice 1/4 C, 1 serrano pepper and 1/4 bunch of cilantro, just blend it all and soak your shrimp on it for at least 20 minutes.

This is raw seafood so be careful. The acidity of lime will cook it but if you are sensitive or have a weak palate hahaha you should stay away from it. :D more for your tio...

032.JPG

I will not lie this is one of my favorite meals and it is also RAWWWWW grrr ahahah makes it feel healthy and I just love sea food.

The flavors in this tostada were amazing, some spiciness from the aguachile mix and all the acid.

039.JPG

These pickled onions are amazing as well. They taste amazing and look even better

All you have to do is slice some red onions put them in a container and pour lime juice until 1/4 of it is covered, and add some salt, depending how many onions are you working with. You could just do couple tablespoons if desired.

Let it sit stirring it or shaking it every once in a while just to get the onions soft. they'll pickle completely sooner or later.

034.JPG

And that was my lesson on tostadas :D

Hope you all are having an awesome time, I love you

Soy tu tio


TioLuis

Follow me I'll follow you We all can help each other. :)

Also, you should check out the minnow support! It's here to help us small guys grow!!
https://steemit.com/minnowsunite/@hypexals-spiral/minnow-support-project-how-to

Sort:  

Looks so colorful and tasty! Yum yum : P

Hello @tioluis , wow that's really some great tostadas! Beautifully presented and the taste must has been absolutely super delicious!
Keep it up amigos!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thank you brother
:) It was good I'm glad you like it. I definitely know you have a good eye for food so if you think mine looks good I'm sure I did a good job
Soy tu tio

You really did a great job dear! You must be proud and the pics are just amazing!
Keep Rocking!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TioLuis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Beautiful food post!

Thanks gringita <3
Send you mi tio love
Take care

mmm this is making me hungry

hahaha let's go eat some

great post and wonderful food. Love to have this today - but Sushi is on today

mmmm sushi, another of my favorites, I think I need to make some soon.
Too bad my girlfriend doesn't like seafood.
Soy tu tio

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80