"Pho" For You!! Losing Weight, Tasting Great, and Feeling Full, a Dish to Remember!

in #food8 years ago

Ever wonder why Southeast Asians are usually very skinny and slender? Besides from their genetic makeup, their diet is an important factor that allows them to maintain being skinny. In Southeast Asian cooking, soup-based/noodle dishes are very popular. They do not contain a lot of calories because they are made up of mostly water, yet are very tasty.

Perhaps one of the most famous noodle dishes is "pho." Originating from Vietnam, pho has gained a lot of popularity in the West in recent years. In this post, I will be showing you guys how I make pho. It's actually a very simple dish to make and can last you many meals.


INGREDIENTS:
-beef bones (~4 lbs)
-round-eye beef (1 lb)
-1/2 of an onion
-ginger(~1/4 lb)
-daikon radish (~1 lb)
-pho spices: coriander, cloves, star anise, cinnamon, fennel (you can purchase all this in a pho spice package)
-pho flavored cubes
-pho noodle
-optional: bean sprouts, basil, beef ball

STEPS
1: boil the beef bones for ~5-10 minutes to get rid of all the scum then rinse them afterward

2: cut the ginger into thin slices and chop the radish into small pieces

3: put the beef bones, chopped ginger, radish, onion, and pho spices into the pot and fill it half way with water

4: heat pho pot for at ~4-7 hours

5: add in pho flavored cubes, msg, salt, and sugar to your own tasting (personally, I add in 8 cubes, 2:2:2 tbsp of salt, msg, and sugar)

6: boil the pho noodle and chop eye-round beef into small and thin slices

7: pour the broth onto the noodle and serve with some chopped green onion and onion as garnishes

As you guys requested from my previous post, I have posted a recipe for pho. I hope you guys like this post. Let me know if you have any request for future Asian dishes.

Sort:  

I am living in Vietnam, not Vietnamese though. I love Pho, eat it every day, sometimes beef, sometimes chicken or whatever taste I like that day. Sad thing is, Vietnamese food is dangerous, food poisoning 6-10 times in 1 year. Where are you from tinalover?

I'm from Vietnam haha
Yeah, my parents always talk about food poisoning in Vietnam.... it's becoming such a big issue over there. It's sad that you can't trust what you eat nowadays anymore over there.

Where in Vietnam are you from if I may ask?

Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City). Where are you living now?

Saigon as well, I love it here.

appetizingly looks

Thanks, it's super tasty too

You Asian folks got hooked up in the genetics department AND the cooking department :D

Good stuff!

lol, I'm glad you like our food and genetic makeup :D

That "pho" looks yummy, @tinalover32!

I'd totally offer some to you if you live near me :O

I live in Argentina but of course if I travel were you live or you travel over here would be nice to try your dishes and I would cook some of mines for you to try too.

OK, When's dinner??? upvoted!

Thanks for the upvote.
Dinner is served anytime you want hahah :D

i'll be right there! LOL!

@tinalover32 Thanks for sharing your pho recipe! Can you share a recipe for banh mi in an upcoming post?

Thanks for your reply. I will definitely look into it. I'm so glad that Vietnamese food is well-liked by steemers

I love fo. If I was on death ro it'd be my last meal without question.

I love pho and this looks great!

cô gái ở đâu vậy

Da em oi Chicago (nuoc My)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60870.17
ETH 3385.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57