Octopus and potatoes with fresh herbs

in #food6 years ago

20180505_083311.jpg

This dish is light and tasteful - that is if you are fond of octopus! Also you can accompany it with ouzo or a nice cold beer!

20180505_082621.jpg

Ingredients: 1kg of boiled potatoes, 1 kg of octopus well cleaned, 2-3 bay leaves, 2-3 pepper grains, 2 tbsp of chopped dill, 2 tbsp of chopped parsley, 2-3 spring onions chopped, salt and pepper

20180505_082852.jpg

For the sauce: ½ glass of olive oil, 2 tbsp of mustard, 1 tbsp of lemon juice

20180505_083457.jpg

I put the octopus in a pressure cooker with about ½ glass of water, the bay leaves, the pepper grains. I close the cooker and let it cook for about 12-15’. I take it out, let it rest and cut into pieces.

20180505_083411.jpg

In a deep platter, I put the potatoes after cutting them in pieces and above them, the octopus pieces. I sprinkle with the dill, the parsley, the spring onions, salt and pepper.

20180505_082926.jpg

Lastly I make the sauce by combining all the ingredients and mixing them well together. I pour it over the potatoes and octopus.

20180505_083214.jpg

Enjoy!

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @tikotiko for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Now I'm hungry..

I am always hungry!!!😁

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

I have enjoyed octopus many times in restaurants since coming to Greece. However, I have never tried preparing it at home.

Would you be so kind as to describe this process: "1 kg of octopus well cleaned" since I have never seen an octopus being cleaned. I have cleaned fish, so I am not squeemish :-)

😀 I am glad you pay attention to my posts!

The best seafood is if it is fresh and I trust that in your neighbourhood that is not hard to find..

If you catch an octopus at sea, you open the head and omit the "egg" inside and beat it 20 times on each side upon a rock, that is 40 times. Then you rub it upon the rock. You cut off the eyes and mouth. Then, before cooking, you put it under the tap to clean well from any sands using your hands to rub the legs well..
If you buy it from a fisherman you skip the stage of beating and rubbing on the rock. You cut the head to omit the inside and omit the eyes and mouth.. if the octopus is old I use some vinegar to clean it..
I hope that helps..

Oh my God! And what do you do to your rabbits? LOL

😁😁😁

Octopus when cooked to perfection is really delicious. This dish must really be delicious too. Keep it up!

Thanks for stopping by!

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

και με κοφτό μακαρονάκι είναι super :)

Πραγματικα!!! 😋😋😋

Hi, nice post I will remember to try this dish one day. I also see you have many posts on greece; maybe you have a tip to me and my family traveling to Rhodes island? I have a contest running on my blog :)

Thats very good thank you, if you make it a post and follow the rules on my contest you might win first prize of at least 3sbd, just upvoting or resteeming you might win a bonus :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33