The Last of the Dandelion Smoothies for the Season

in #food6 years ago

A cold rain is falling, and our first hard freeze of the season is expected tonight for the Ozarks.

Lately I've been living on dandelion smoothies for lunch, but with the freeze on its way, I went out this afternoon and picked the last of these natural greens from the cold, wet garden.

IMG_0377.jpg

It's the 8th of November and I'm still harvesting wild greens!

I shut the water off to the garden hose, picked the last of the cayenne peppers and parsley, and brought in all of the houseplants.

IMG_0379.jpg

Sooie the cat is also in for the winter

Ready for the freeze?

I'm as ready as can be!


photos mine, November 2018

IMG_4721.jpg
thanks for looking in!

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

Good thing you have a winter garden!

The plants in those little greenhouses are growing ever so slowly, I might have to buy some spinach while I'm waiting for mine to get bigger.

I've heard they're really good with eggs. I'm going to try it tomorrow. Never had wild dandelion, but the chickens really seem to love it!

If the chickens left you any, the leaves are loaded with healthy stuff, so I hear.

Looks like you're growing cattails as well, huh?

Not the edible kind, but they act sweet sometimes.

I have never tried Lion's tooth salad or juice. I see them all the time after spring, so I guess I will try them next year.

it's a bitter leaf, especially during warmer months, but I just blend them with bananas and honey.

Yes yes I'm so looking forward to the freeze. 20 degrees tomorrow night. We live on a mountain out in Madison County so it will be real cold here. Don't worry we are staying warm. Sooie looks like a happy kitty.

Amazingly we haven't even had a light frost here in town yet, but I guess it's normal these days. Yeah Sooie is happy as long as the food keeps coming, she's a little pig really.

Are they good? I picture them being very bitter. I'm curious about your recipe though. I'm not sure if I would be able to do it even though dandelions grow in my yard. Not that I don't enjoy trying new things but with the dog and cat using the yard as their toilet, i doubt id be able find clean plants lol

Yeah dandelion is too bitter for me to just eat, that's why the smoothies. It's usually just made with kefir, and I add a handful of assorted leaves from the garden, a banana, a carrot, a lot of raw honey, and a dash of Himalayan salt.

sounds interesting. I'd drink that :)

Congratulations @therealpaul! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5500 comments. Your next target is to reach 6000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78