Dining Out in Cape Town - The Chefs Table, Mount NelsonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

So I finally plucked up the courage and popped the question to my better half on Wednesday evening, having spent some time organizing the how and where. The venue I chose was the beautiful setting of the Mount Nelson Hotel, Cape Towns oldest hotel.

The Mount Nelson Hotel, Cape Town. Famous for its afternoon tea, its wartime legends and its pink exterior, the Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town has always kept its standards high. Opened months before the South African War erupted in 1899, the Mount Nelson was a refuge and a gathering point for the elite of the time.
source

Now, I usually describe the food and all the ingredients on the plate but this time around there was no menu to assist me... and there was no less than NINE courses of fine dining. All complex dishes cooked to perfection, with the chef who prepared the food coming to the table to describe the dish as well as how it was prepared.

Breadandhumus.jpg

A complimentary bread platter arrived accompanied by Ladismith butter and humus and paprika. The bread labelled 'best bread' has won the title amongst bread bakers for the last three years. Was delicious

I am sad I was so excited and relieved that my girl said yes that I forgot to take a photo of the first course which was prepared especially for her.. her favorite food being aubergines (brinjals, eggplants). It was prepared in three ways with the base being thinly sliced layer in a citrus and chilli dressing, a cornstarch and spice fried thicker slice on top of that with a 'quenelle' of aubergine inner on top of the thick slice which was pungent with spices and lime. Sublime food indeed!!!

chefstablemirror.jpg
My girl was facing the kitchen, the above is the mirrored view of the kitchen. I took that picture at a rare quiet moment, not a chef in sight

I will show the rest of the courses with a general description as I cannot remember all what was on the plate, just the primary ingredient

Beef5ways.jpg
Beef Five ways - Marrow made with capers and citrus, biltong, oxtail with truffles and the white crispy stuff is TENDONS which takes two days to prepare. I approached it with trepidation but the others ate it with great gusto. tasted very good

skeweredprawns.jpg
Cayenne spiced prawns served with a lemon froth

grilledseabass.jpg
Grilled Sea Bass with crispy skin. I really wish I could have done the accompaniments better justice as there was a lot of preparation which went into them

SearedTuna.jpg
Seared Tuna

bananapassionsorbet.jpg
Banana and passion fruit sorbet to cleanse our palates before the next course - superb

lamb.jpg
Karoo lamb done to an absolute turn. So tasty and tender complimented by the crunchy green beans and the reduction underneath (Jeux??) ahhhh, no words

dessert.jpg
I cannot describe all that is on the plate as I know nothing about desserts but it was stunning. The top wines we were consuming with each course did not contribute well to my understanding the pastry chefs descriptions

And the finale - yes, there was more!!

congratulations.jpg
We all thought we had no space for more food... never fear we fel on this like a pack of starving people. Fantastic desserts, and of course my girl was suitably impressed

A fine nights dining indeed. Now all I need is for you all to upvote and resteem and upvote and resteem so I can afford to go back again!!!

As always, thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Oh wow , it all looks so fabulous , no wonder she said yes !! And congratulations , im starveing now and drooling , sure wish I was there ! Thanks so much for shareing your awesome meal with us ! Upped and resteemed !!😋👍💙

Ahhh thank you @karenmckersie..you are a honey !!!

Your welcome ! 👍😋

Now I only need another 300 votes and a few dozen resteems and I can go eat there again {grin} ...the bill was just under $500......but worth every cent. If I get to 200 votes I will post a pic of the happy lady ....

Haha ! Wow thats too rich for my blood , but a definite once in a lifetime kind of experience ! Or if the price of steem goes up then BOOM !! Eating like a queen all the time lol !👍😂😆

LOL ... yeah, was a treat we had promised ourselves for a while...

Wow, that was quite a decadent meal!

No kidding...and the one I forgot was deboned chicken wings stuffed with some fancy stuff. I remember when the chef was describing how he prepared the dish I said something like 'Why would you do all that to a wing?'....The look he gave me was just short of disgusted. It did taste good...
Thanks for taking the time to read and comment

Congratulations!!!

And the meal looks absolutely amazing as well. I had to scroll up and down a few times so I could drool a bit more.

Ahhh there you are! I was wondering where my friend was. Thanks for the congratulations .... I am still shyte scared of relinquishing my 'singleness' after 27 years...{sigh}.
The food was spectacular and plenty... and worth every cent.

What? I was only a couple of days late... {slightly shamefaced look}
You felt the fear and did it anyway (go, you!), because you know it will be a wonderful adventure. I wish every happiness for you both.

Thank you sincerely @kiwideb ....

Congrats to both of you! And wow that was a nice dinner!

Thank you. I wish I had remembered to take a pic of the Aubergine 3 ways. That was a real delight.

Sounds great indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85