Dining Out In Cape Town - Cattle Baron The Grill HousesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Recently I had a rare business lunch at what is a franchise outlet, something I usually avoid like the plague. Cape Town is blessed with many small individually owned restaurants of great quality that franchises with their ‘canned’ products are an unnecessary evil (My opinion)



As the name purports The Grill House is renowned for the quality of the meat that is available on the menu and this is largely beef, although lamb, fish and chicken are also available. My host suggested a local craft beer to start which we duly ordered and I then had a look at the menu which was extensive.
As reported in my Black Swan review I cannot resist Carpaccio so I ordered the Venison Carpaccio starter and my host ordered a half portion deep fried camembert cheese



Thinly sliced venison drizzled with rocket and walnut pesto, topped with pecorino shavings and crème fraiche



Crumbed and deep fried Camembert served with a cranberry sauce and melba toast

The carpaccio was delicious especially once I drizzled it with a bit of balsamic vinegar. I was seriously tempted to have another plate for my main course. As regards the camembert well Warren has it every time he eats at The Grill House and he is such a regular that when we arrived they brought this to the table….




Personalised steak knife – a nice touch indeed

Another very nice touch is patrons may store their own bottle of whiskey at the restaurant, and quite a few patrons have taken them up on this.

We were fortunate that on this day one of our local wine estates, Diemersdal, decided to launch their 2017 Sauvignon Blanc wine in the restaurant and we drank our full of this stunning wine. Highly recommended




Just one cabinet of whiskeys… there are several others




Kanonkop wines as part of the décor

On the recommendation of my host I ordered the house speciality, a cut of meat which I am not familiar with. Prime Rib Steak on the bone which is prepared to one’s liking and the cooking process completed at the table. It is 600gm’s of meat and I ordered mine rare







Flambee’ing the steak gave it an amazing smoky flavour. This is a slightly tougher meat than rump and fillet but full of taste. Fantastic

The other main was a 200g fillet also flambee’ed at the table (first photo)

The mains were accompanied by onion rings, two seasonal vegetables and a side salad.

The food was great and it got a really big thumbs up from me despite the prices being slightly upmarket, the quality and service makes it worthwhile. I will be back.

To add to the above: I have never eaten in a restaurant with such attention to detail, such importance given to customer service and where each staff member is friendly and knowledgeable. This is a really tight run ship which oozes professionalism from arrival to departure.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

The food looks really delicious. I notice the tag on the prime rib indicates "Cattle Baron", is the "The Grill House" part of the Cattle Baron chain of restaurants?

Hi @rynow...yup, is part of the Cattle Baron franchise. In my opinion a shining light. Thanks for the read...and if you in Cape Town... A must visit...and I have no personal interest....promise. {smile}

Great work! Thank you for sharing!

Thanks Olga.... appreciate you stopping by to read!

Although I resemble a Rake in Appearance ( the one you use in the Garden) I am an absolute Hog when it comes to food , This looks delicious!

Thanks for reading and the comment. I can certainly recommend this place. They not only serve great food, they make you feel special. @awgibb, look out for my next post... I dined at the Mount Nelson last night for a special occasion , a 9 course fine dining meal... ahhhhhhhhh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45