Dining Out - The Black Swan in OudtshoornsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

I have been writing about our Road Trip To Oudsthoorn and included some nature shots as well as the animals and this part three is going to be covering our eating experience on the Saturday evening. On arrival (Friday) we went down to the ‘fine dining’ restaurant named The Black Swan and made a booking for the Saturday evening.

On arrival we found a most unassuming exterior, but the interior décor was far more sumptuous, without being opulent.

The menu was really decent and comparing the prices to Cape Town these were very reasonable, not that I could say the same for the local wine. Nonetheless I decided to try a local wine and ordered a Sauvignon Blanc from the local winery Karusa

After sampling the wine I felt a bit better about the extravagant price. It was very good


@themagus in heaven…doing what he does best, drinking good wine and eating good food

I cannot resist carpaccio so I had no hesitation in ordering the Ostrich Carpaccio

carpaccio
kɑːˈpatʃɪəʊ,Italian karˈpattʃo/
noun

  1. an Italian hors d'oeuvre consisting of thin slices of raw beef or fish served with a sauce.
    source


Ostrich Carpaccio served with capers and parmesan shavings accompanied with olive oil and balsamic vinegar

My good lady also had one of her favorites, a Beetroot and Blue Cheese Salad


Fresh green leaf salad with roasted beets, citrus fruits, chunks of blue cheese, toasted nuts and crispy croutons

My carpaccio was very good somewhat let down by a sub-standard parmesan which lacked that tongue sharpening finish. Nonetheless the portion was of such a nature that I did not have a main meal.

The beetroot and blue cheese salad was an absolute hit with my lady, and from what I tasted the citrus and blue cheese is a stroke of genius and compliments the earthy sweetness of the roasted beetroot exceptionally well.

My partner (@fempower) decided to go with the Chef’s Special for the evening which was a Lamb Curry served with fresh steamed vegetables and samp.


Lamb Curry and side dishes

The main was very edible without being exceptional. May I modestly say that I make a very good curry so my girl is probably spoilt {grin}

All in all a very pleasant evening and the bill was rather light when one is used to eating out in Cape Town. We will go back but not too often as it is 280 miles from home.

As always thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Hello @themagus,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Carpaccio is one of my favorite food! Watching your pics I'm feeling hungry ^_^

Cannot disagree with you. Bring it on {smile}. When we were in Italy we did not see it offered on any menu . Unless of course we misinterpreted....

Maybe it depends of the part of Italy, the carpaccio is typical of the north Italy, but here in Tuscany we can find it at the restourant and in the supermarket too. I don't now if it's simple to find it in the south Italy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46