Steamed Buns With Sweet Fillings

in #food7 years ago

Raise your hands if you like steamed buns 🙋

We looooveee steamed buns so much that we often make it at home. Be it as is without filling (mantou) or with sweet and/or savory filling (baozi). In Indonesia, we call them as bakpao, although today many would call them as just pao or mantau.

Thought I'd share a recipe of steamed buns with sweet filling before I head to the cotton island 😉 Vegan of course 😊

Fluffy bun, yum-yum

1516069806689.jpg

These buns are filled with:

  • Strawberry jam
  • DF chocolate chips
  • PB2 (fatless peanut butter powder)
  • PB2 + chocolate chips

20180115_193203-COLLAGE.jpg

Dough Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 c almond milk (sweetened or unsweetened)
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 heaping tsp active dry yeast

How To

  • In a heatproof bowl, pour almond milk and sprinkle with sugar, microwave to lukewarm, then sprinkle with yeast, stir. Let mixture stand for 10 minutes.

1516069565463.jpg

  • On a separate bowl, mix 3 c of flour with 2 tbsp soy milk powder (optional), 1 tbsp icing sugar and a pinch of salt.

1516069525870.jpg

  • Pour yeast mixture into flour mixture and knead.

1516069584830.jpg

  • Cover with plastic cling wrap and let stand for an hour or until doubled in size. Once dough doubled in size, take about 35-45 gram of dough, flatten and fill with jam/vegan chocolate chips, peanut butter etc Seam to seal.

1516069611262.jpg

1516069650258.jpg

1516069676687.jpg

  • Let rest for another half H

1516069720170.jpg

  • Meanwhile, preheat steamer, then when steamer is ready, steam buns for 5 minutes.

1516069772466.jpg

PB2 Filling

  • 2 tbsp PB2 mix with 1 tsp icing sugar and enough maple syrup, to make paste

1516069878067.jpg

1516069843733.jpg

Note: the dough makes 6 steamed buns filled with choc chips, 4 buns with jam, 4 buns with PB2, and 2 buns with PB2+Choc chips


Thanks For Looking!




Sort:  

Love steamed buns! These look so yummy!

Many thanks! They were yummy for sure 😊

We love pau! Never occurred to me to try to make some though XD Or having it with sweet fillings O_O Last time we were out in the city I accidentally found a place inside the bus/train port where I'd taken one of the kids to the toilet and they were massive so I quickly bought some to have with lunch. They were the first things to get eaten XD

goatsig

Which Asians don't love pau, hey 😂

I liked pau in Hong Kong, super white. Seems like pau in Asia always muuuuch whiter, so nice.

I can't believe you never made yourself!

Well, scratch that, before living in Canada, I never had to make myself, so easy to just go to vendors. Nobody sells pau here (in small town) 😂😂😂😂

Plenty of Asians around here which makes me happy as my favourite foods are usually easy distance without me having to make it myself XD (in all seriousness I should probably learn though, I just hate cooking and it doesn't help that i could burn water, I'm not sure how I survived when I was single XD)

goatsig

You made my mouth all watery!

Sorry ! I hope you got some tissues there tho 😉

Yuummm! These look delicious! I really like that they don’t have any kind of flour either. I’m trying to avoid gluten right now. 😞

Thanks for the detailed walk through and pictures!

Its using flour, sorry, not gf 😁

My pleasure!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 6.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.22
Server time: 05:22:03
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 318.99/400.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 28
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

wow ! I do love it thanx for sharing the recipe . I will ask my to do it in these holidays

My pleasure!

Thanks for visiting 😊

So niceee😍❤️ Check my food posts 🙏

Oooh, steamed buns!! something I never tried! Looks yum!!!
Can also go with meat fillings as well?

Oh these look great! :D

They look Amazing :) Thank you for sharing the recipe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79