🥓🥓🥓Spring Roll Chips a.k.a Rice Paper Bacon🥓🥓🥓

in #food6 years ago

Hello, hello, hello,

How's your Saturday, friends? Mine was (or is still) wonderful. We stayed home and done a lot of chores 😂 Not long after lunch, I successfully passed out and napped for 2 H. Scored!!! I love weekends, as my husband is home to entertain the boys and let this momma nap 😂

I made bacon earlier, hmmmm baco (Eric Forman's voice - That 70s Show). Vegan of course! I like calling them crackers or chips instead actually, but yeah the more common name is vegan rice paper bacon 😁

1518914423478.jpg

Because they are suuuupppeerrr easy to make, they are bloody dangerous, for me anyways, like seriously. I like having them often on everything, on stew, on soup, for breakfast, or just to snack as is, you know, as chips 😉

The texture always remind me of cassava chips, so I really like that. I also like having them with peanut sauce, I know, I'm weird 😂

Let's see how I made these crunchy bad boys!

Ingredients

  • Vietnamese rice paper (for fresh spring rolls)

Marinade

  • 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp each molasses and nooch
  • 1/2 tsp each of garlic powder, liquid smoke, smoked paprika powder
  • 1/2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • enough water

1518913786410.jpg

How To

  • preheat oven to 375 F
  • pour a little water (1/4 c) on a plate
  • grab one rice paper, quickly soak in water, place on a cutting board
  • grab another one, do the same, and stack these two

1518913825427.jpg

  • brush rice paper with marinade, flip over, and brush this other side as well
  • with clean kitchen scissor, cut into strips and place on parchment lined pan (if you cut the strips a little wavy, you would most likely achieve bacon look btw, am too lazy)

1518914283281.jpg

  • bake seasoned rice paper for 4 minutes, rotate pan and bake for another 3 mins

Ta-daaaaa your spring roll chips are ready 😊

1518914396104.jpg

Important Note: obviously adjust for marinade measurement to your liking 😉


Thanks For Looking!



This @bearone's banner, makes my blog looks better 😉






Looky, looky, what @enginewitty made me, isn't it a cutie 😊

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @thekitchenfairy for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Hi @thekitchenfairy , nice to meet you :)
Really love this recipe. It looks delicious and not too complicated. Worth trying.

Hey! Thanks for visiting 😊

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.26
Server time: 01:48:17
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 551.19/800.00
Total Photos: 66
Total comments: 51
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Just a really silly question: What is nooch? I am not familiar with it...

Nutritional yeast 😁

Sorry! I know I shouldn't use abbreviations and slang, as not everyone is familiar with baking and/or vegan terms

I would use a pizza cutter to cut them, faster. Do you have to coat both sides or would one side be enough? These look awesome!

I will try pizza cutter next time, thanks 😊

Yummm! Rice paper bacon is my fav

Same here, I could use up the whole package of rice paper to make and snack in front of TV 😂

Mmmmm....baaaaconnnn.

Who doesn't like bacon, right? 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56