What's For Dinner? Cherrywood Smoked Baby Back Ribs

in #food7 years ago

I like meat.

I think my Hungarian genes make me especially like Pork.

The lower half of the Orion Cooker loaded with just over 18 lbs of baby back ribs.

smoked baby back ribs

I love this smoker more and more every time I use it.

6 full racks of Cherrywood smoked ribs in 1 hour and 15 minutes!!!!

Seriously, I set a timer.

platter of pork

This is actually going to wind up as six meals, one tonight and the other 5 racks will be cut in half, vacuum sealed & frozen.

barbeque ribs

The pictures aren't the greatest, but once the ribs were done, we were in a pretty big hurry to eat.

$54.00 for the ribs, about $3.00 worth of charcoal briquettes, $1.00 worth of dry rub (sugar, salt, garlic, paprika, cayenne & black pepper) and $0.20 worth of Cherry wood chips.

That's about $9.75 of main course meat per meal for a family of 2 adults & 2 teenagers.

A frozen rack is ready in about 4-5 minutes in the microwave.

Sorry, I didn't have time to make the cornbread.

Here's an old post about my pork Butt in the Orion.

Sort:  

That looks great! I am just learning how to use a smoker this year! Thanks!

I'm using mine as often as I can.

Fabulous recipe. Looks yummy. @theblindsquirl

Orion Cooker? I think I missed something, I have to get up to date with your posts. Will put it on my to do list for tomorrow. It is too late now and I am sleepy.


The ribs look delicious I am guessing they peel off easily from the bone ? Also adding some potatoes cooked in the oven, maybe some butter on them after they are done , that would make my belly happy :)

Hmm..... Next week we must make some BBQ, 2nd time this week my fiancee mentioned it. :)

I've never thought to freeze ribs before. That is something I might try sometime. My husband and I have differing opinions over the best ribs. He loves smoked ribs. I never cared much for a strong smokey flavor. I like putting them in the oven for a little while on a low temp to get them tender then transfer them to the grill. This lessens the smoke and makes them fall off the bone.

I'll eat them either way.

In a pinch, I'll even buy the pathetic ribs from the grocery store deli counter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81