Check Out My Butt (Pork Butt) Not Safe for Vegans

in #food7 years ago

The other day @kaylinart made a post about Bizarre Ways You're Wasting Money. (Sorry, I don't know how to link to previous posts yet.)

Anywho, she mentioned eating out.

That inspired me to post about this great meal that cost about $25.

It was really an amazingly mediocre meal that convinced my wife to let me get the new smoker. The restaurant had decent reviews and we had a Groupon but the dry, flavorless barbeque (both pork and beef), hockey puck burger, bland coleslaw and tasteless sauces cost our family of 4 over $70 including the tip. Oh and we drank water.

But enough chit chat, I can tell you really want to see my butt, so here it is.

P1020436.JPG
It's not burned, that's a coating of smokey goodness all over the outside.
P1020434.JPG
I already had the smoker.
P1020448.JPG
5.3 lb Pork Butt
Collard Greens with Bacon
Corn Bread Muffins
Baked Beans
Candied Sweet Potatoes
Homemade Raspberry Tea

There are at least 6 full servings here, probably more like 8 if you don't have a teenage son and you aren't the only one in your family who eats Collard Greens or Sweet Potatoes.

This is the 3rd different smoker I've had and it's been the easiest to operate and probably the least expensive as well. I literally loaded the hickory chips and the meat into it, put the lid on, fired up the charcoal and came back 3-1/2 hours later to take it out.

In the roughly 3 weeks I've had it, I've smoked 2 Pork Butts, an 8 lb Beef Brisket and a week ago I smoked 6 full racks of Babyback Ribs in 1 hour and 15 minutes.

We ate 2 racks for dinner and I vacuum sealed and froze the other 4.

Truth be told, I'm not from Texas or The South so I may be guilty of Cultural Appropriation. (oh well)

Oh, that reminds me, I have to take that boneless leg of Lamb out of the freezer. Opa!!!

jó étvágyat (that's legal, I'm Hungarian)

Sort:  

mm mm yummy!

You should see/taste my baby back ribs. ;-)

It is all GOOD! Welcome to America & please enjoy one of our few cultural refinements: Going Caveman on Meat.
Please continue to share.

I was born and raised here. Just got the Hungarian citizenship as a lifeboat and because they're not bombing brown people all over the world.

I would like to know how to get a lifeboat.
Is it a difficult process?
Any pointers?

There are a lot of factors.

Hungary has a program to grant citizenship if you can prove ancestry and your lineage is one or two generations removed (like your parents or grandparents were born in Hungary), it's a matter of filling out forms and providing documentation. If it's beyond your grandparent, you need to learn to beszélj magyarul. Not an easy language to pick up.

I believe Ireland and Poland have similar programs.

Other countries have begun granting "economic" citizenship recently but they can cost tens to hundreds of thousand of dollars of "investments" in the country.

Other countries have relatively quick residency to citizenship paths, between 3-5 years.

I am looking into southern hemisphere habitation, mostly in South
America. A small, rural sustainable hybrid farm even in Argentina
will be preferable to the fall of empire deal. Thank you for your insight.

I have no affiliation with them and have never been there but I believe this place is being developed as a "Galt's Gulch" by Doug Casey and other "rogue" investors.

http://www.lec.com.ar/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43