You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHY WE HOMESTEAD - CHAPTER 6 - A TRUSTWORTHY FOOD SOURCE

in #food5 years ago

Even though I agree with most everything you've written down I disagree with this one:

I’d even refer to it as mutilation rather than modification, since man is technically mutilating the things that God created

GMOs have been used and helped communities around the world, for example, scientists have introduced a gene in a certain species of rice just to increase his vitamin C, why? because the community that consumed that rice had high deficiency of vitamin C, some even died because of it...The problem isn't GMOs but what big corporations allow the scientists to introduce has genes, there is a blurry line to "how far can we go with GMOs" but, in the end, I am 100% sure that GMOs are a must for the future of humanity, and sooner or later we will start to change humans the way we change plants, will it be bad? Like every new tech it can be used for great evil but also for great good, and someone with good moral judgment must pave the road.

I'm not a Christian, I'm agnostic (basically means I don't really pay attention to anything supernatural since I can't prove it or disprove it), so I won't go much into the god argument, but, since I grew in a Catholic school, I'll give you a counter-argument, if God created humans in his image, it would only make sense for humans to be able to do the things God does, and also, every parent wants for their children to be better then them, isn't god our father? Maybe he wants us to be better then him... I've had people calling my blasphemous,etc... for saying this, but if indeed God exists, I want to be better then him, if God made this world for us, we should be allowed to change it in any way or shape we want, improving and evolving until we finally reach him and maybe someday surpass him...

And to end my comment, I really enjoy the way you guys live, I hope that someday I'm able to get my own farm and grow my own food, ever since I had a strawberry plant that I grew and gave me food I got the farm "bug" inside me....

Sort:  

I appreciate the cordial disagreement, and I'm glad that you got the gardening bug!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63927.21
ETH 2754.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65