Apple and brown sugar gelato

in #food6 years ago

I was taunting @meno with homemade gelato and he demanded a photo, so here you go:

Apple brown sugar.jpg

This isn't the most visually-appealing gelato I make, but it's awfully tasty. You can see some of the more-visually-appealing ones, and less, at my old Tumblr from when I was doing this more often. It's actually been long enough that I've forgotten some of those and should make them again. Maybe not umeboshi, since only two people liked that one.

Anyway, I realized I haven't actually talked about making gelato here. It's something I used to do a lot, but then our best creamery got into a fight with the power company and eventually went out of business, and our second-best creamery was not very reliable for a long time. But recently there have been a couple other sources for non-homogenized heavy cream, which means I can start up again.

As with most things created from milk products, it's important to start with milk and cream that isn't homogenized and isn't ultra-pasteurized, in order to keep the character of the dairy in the final product. (Regular pasteurization is fine. I haven't ventured into world of unpasteurized milk; I'm close to the cows but not that close.)

It's also important to minimize the number of ingredients. Any commercial ice cream you eat is full of stabilizers to keep it soft, or at least soft-ish, for a long time, and because of that you're missing out on a whole level of good that you can get by making it yourself. This is a four-ingredient recipe, and most of mine are six or less.

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup Simply Apple juice
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar

I really wanted to use muscovado in this but I ran all around town yesterday without finding any. I know I've bought it here before but either it's gone now or I've forgotten where. So I just ended up with regular brown sugar. It's still really nice.

I waffle between using fresh fruit, commercial purees, and juice, but for apple I thought it was a pretty straightforward decision to use juice, since I don't have, like, an apple press. Even if I did, Simply Apple is so good I probably couldn't do a better job. I'm not actually a big fan of apples, but I had an apple sorbet in Copenhagen that really spoke to me, and I wanted to play with the flavor a little bit. I'll be making a sorbet version tomorrow.

Anyway, this isn't a complicated process, I just mix all the ingredients together and run them through the gelato machine until the texture is right. That's mostly a matter of testing and experience rather than using a timer. I can both see and hear how thick the gelato has become, and take it out at the appropriate moment.

This one was a pretty solid success right away, and I am totally not mad at Meno for insisting on a photo after I had already finished my first serving, and making me go back for seconds.

Sort:  

It looks great. I agree with @meno, that's a sin hahahaha. Enjoy it!!!

Sounds delicious Tim, I remember the days of making ice cream... good to see those days havn't died out completely ;9)

Poly... this is sinful stuff, i hope you can repent a little bit...

What's your fav btw?

It's hard to pick a favorite. Contenders would be strawberry lime, avocado, cardamom, dark chocolate cherry, poppyseed, fig, blackberry yogurt, peach vanilla, plum hibiscus, apricot, saffron, pistachio. Those are the ones I return to most often. At this point I could probably open a food truck.

I also really like roasted yellow pepper but that one's a bit weird, it's more of a condiment than a dessert. Goes really nicely on a steak.

yummy😊 I love it🍨

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

you have to try to skate with milk

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54